I Woke Up At 3:00 a.m. So United Could Sleep In

Remember when I said my flight to San Fran was at 6:30 a.m.?  In order to get to the airport on time without panic, I had to get up at 3 a.m.  So, I got up at 3:00 a.m.  Then, I get to the airport and find that my 6:30 a.m. departure was delayed to 8:42 a.m.  Reason:  The pilots need to sleep before the flight.  I understand the legal ramifications of pilots and sleep, but how this could not have been anticipated is beyond me.  Needless to say, there was a lot of uncomfortable airport sleeping.

But, I got my second run once we landed in San Francisco.

Because we landed prior to check-in, we went straight to Fisherman’s Wharf.

As Binks and I were quite famished by the time we landed, we stopped off Boudin for a quick lunch.  While waiting for lunch, we were happy to see what was next door.

I ordered the California Veggie sandwich for lunch.

The sandwich was exactly what I needed after the flight.  Yummy bites of cucumber, tomatoes, roasted red bell pepper, pepper jack cheese, sun-dried tomato spread, onions and balsamic vinegar really made this sandwich the deliciousness that it was.

Binks got the half special: (1. half sandwich and 2. half soup).  Of course we had to try the famous clam chowder.

This sandwich totally reminded me of this.  Boudin, you really did not hold back at all on portions, did you?  Binks and I should have just split a meal.

After our large lunch, we walked.

And met a new friend.

We took a boat cruise tour, and enjoyed sites that we could not fit into our trip to San Fran this time around.  Like Alcatraz.

We walked to the Ferry Building but only to realize that the Farmers’ Market had closed. I have had my heart set on a bit of a Frog Hollow Farm pear.

After wandering, we checked into our hotel and rested.  An hour later (fighting any and all temptations to just fall asleep for the night), we left the hotel room to tour around more…and eat dinner.

After some considerable Yelp-ing, we found Firenze by Night.  This was one of the best Italian meals I have ever had.

I ordered the eggplant dish (the name of which I cannot remember).  Basically, it’s breaded eggplant, layered with caramelized onions, tomato sauce and mozzarella cheese.  It’s heaven on a plate.  Although my picture doesn’t do it any justice at all.

And in the north-eastern portion of my plate, Binks shared his ravioli with meat sauce with me.  This meal was magical.  So magical that it stopped Binks in his tracks from just hoovering his food in 5 minutes.

After this hectic day, it’s time to unwind with some mindless TV and much-needed sleep.  Good night everyone!  🙂

Are you a clam chowder fan?  Have you tried Boudin?  Any suggestions in the Bay Area? 

A big thank you to Rice Kernel’s mom for the Bay area suggestions!  🙂

10 Comments

Filed under Bread, Italian, Vacation

10 responses to “I Woke Up At 3:00 a.m. So United Could Sleep In

  1. your boat cruise tour looks awesome! glad you’re having fun!!

  2. Gosh, how beautiful. I’ve never been there before!

  3. T and I went to San Fran in November of 2009 for my birthday. We had an amazing time. And yes, we ate at Boudin, too! Delish! Did you see the sea creature-shaped breads? So cute.

    Have fun!!!

    ~

  4. Bummer about the delayed flight, but it looks like y’all made up for it with a fabulous day! Gorgeous blue sky and yummy food. I’ve been to San Francisco once, but it was such a brief stay, so I don’t have any good recommendations. You are in one of the best cities for delicious cuisine. Enjoy! 🙂

  5. I’ve never seen blue skies in San Francisco before! It poured last time I was there. I love that city! I went to Alcatraz in March and totally geeked out- I love history and I love prisons (weird as that sounds!)

  6. I love San Francisco! You really can’t go wrong at any restaurant there as everything is fantastic. Especially Boudin! I make an exception from my usual no-gluten routine to have a bit or two of the best sourdough bread in the world.

    Have a lovely time! Definitely check out Betelnut and The Slanted Door if you have time. Two restaurants that I LOVE!

  7. Amy

    how fun!! i love san fran there is soooo much good food there. alcatrez is pretty cool!

  8. Pingback: Behind the Beginning Scenes | OliePants

Leave a Reply

