Where’s Olie?

Other than being bombarded with work, I have been busy planning my trip to San Francisco to San Diego.

Here’s what I got so far.

It’s a work in process, of course.  Binks looked at the list with wide eyes and asked, “You did leave room to deviate here and there, right?”  I laughed at him.  I plan on making this into a more detailed Excel sheet.

And, since our flight is so very early in the morning, which requires me waking up at times I usually fall asleep, we will be using our dear friend Parking Spot, which Binks and I used religiously when we were long-distance.

Thank goodness for coupons.  (Tiffany would be proud.)

Thank goodness for guides.

Budget travel tip:  Check out your library for travel guides instead of buying them.  As the library usually allows you a month to check out books, you have enough time to keep the book for pre-travel research and use during the trip.  Just make sure not to damage or lose it.  🙂

Planning a road trip is definitely harder that I envisioned but I’m very excited to see what adventures we run into.  And, I’m excited to share everything with you, as well!

So tell me, what’s your travel tip?  Have you taken a road trip?  Advice?

12 Comments

Filed under Life

12 responses to “Where’s Olie?

  1. Don’t take anything too seriously when it’s related to traveling, that way when things get off schedule you still enjoy the trip! Easier said than done, right? Sigh, I’m a planner as well and I hate it when things don’t work out the way I think they should.
    My next trip is home for my little brother’s wedding and I’m sure there will be stories to tell! The best part? I’m flying on an airline recently acquired by another airline. Surely my reservation will be lost and I will have to pay thousands to get home. =)
    I can’t wait to see how your trip goes!

    • LOL!!! Geez – I hate that feeling when you can’t trust the company and they insist that the problem is caused by me! This is why I nervously keep everything.

  2. i love that you’re such a planner and list maker like me!!!

  3. LOVE road trips, perfect time of year to do it too! Have a blast and enjoy every second!

  4. I saw the coupons and smiled…then I saw the shout out…I am proud of you! Way to be! I’m excited for you and your trip, you’re going to two wonderful cities! And wow, holy organization batman. When I travel, I’m all about having no plan 🙂

  5. Being from the Bay Area, I noticed you have “Bay to Breakers” on your list – you may be in store for some nudity and general SF-nuttiness! =) Be sure to visit the Ferry Building in SF while you’re at the race or downtown, in general. You’ll find a renowned farmer’s market as well as many artisan eateries – the best of seafood, wine, cheese, etc. Have a wonderful trip. Can’t wait to hear about it!

  6. Yessss, we are totally on the same page when it comes to travel planning 🙂 I never feel prepared enough, regardless of how many lists and schedules I make. I hope that you have a fantastic trip! I’ve always wanted to do a roadtrip…perhaps 2012 will be the year 🙂

  7. Haha! That looks about like my schedules when we’re traveling somewhere new. Love it! 🙂

  8. Weeeee! I love road trips. I just wrote today about how a year ago Billy and I road-tripped from Napa to San Fran, Big Sur, etc. ending in L.A. It was the most incredible time ever! Billy and I took turns driving, I was in charge of snacks and he was in charge of music. We also swapped turns taking photos based on who was driving. And we stopped anywhere we wanted along the way that looked interesting. We found hidden beaches and gorgeous views. Ahhh, I’m so excited for you!

  9. Pingback: Wrapping Up San Fran | OliePants

  10. my travel tip is use those credit card awards!! Just went to hawaii and all the activities were paid from my credit card points!!

  11. Pingback: Behind the Beginning Scenes | OliePants

Leave a Reply

