Can’t Judge A Quinoa By Its Color

As you may have read, I am a huge advocate of eating color.  Not for the sake of eating color, but as a guide to help you (and me) eat more whole foods and to take advantage all the nutrients that colorful foods have to offer (i.e. red bell pepper, oranges, spinach, etc.).

But, today, things are a bit different.

Today, my most mono-chromatic breakfast offers me a wide range of substantial benefits and gets me ready for my busy day.

I’ve tried red quinoa before, but this was my first experience with the yellow variety.  I love it just as much.

And the flavor in this bowl of quinoa is off the chain.

In the mix: 

½ cup yellow quinoa

1 cup milk

1 tbsp dulce

¼ tsp cinnamon

Lightly sweet.  Perfectly cooked.  Great chew. 

On the side:

Freshly juiced apple juice.  As I had a good amount of apples in the house, I decided to juice it.

 What do you put in your quinoa?  Do you juice?  What color quinoa do you like better?  Red?  Yellow?

11 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Vegetarian

11 responses to “Can’t Judge A Quinoa By Its Color

  1. thesavvystudent

    Yummy! Sounds so good! I have only tried the yellow quinoa – I love it and keep a decent stock of it in the kitchen at all times. For breakfast I like to add fruits that I have in the fridge or anything dried that I have around the kitchen. My current fav is cranberry-date with cinnamon, ginger and a little vanilla extract.

    Does the red differ at all in flavour?

    • I do want to keep a decent stock of it too after this.

      I have to try it with cranberries that I have sitting around – I think that would be delicious.

      The red does taste different. In my opinion, it tastes more earthy. The texture is a bit different too when cooked. The red doesn’t stick like the yellow does and actually is like loose rice.

  2. I’ve never had quinoa in a bowl like that before. Only had it mixed into a veggie dish once (which was super yummy) so I don’t really have a lot of experience with it. But this looks good!

  3. Very different… looks yummy. And those nachos looked amazing!
    Jessica
    http://www.birdietobe.blogspot.com

  4. I’m pretty unoriginal with my quinoa, I just cook it with veggie broth most of the time. I haven’t tried it as breakfast yet either. I do prefer the yellow, but like the red as well (mostly because it’s just prettier!)

    • I have yet to try a savory version. I think mentally (and visually), I just compare it to cous cous, which I know is not accurate as the texture is totally different.

  5. i’ve never tried red quinoa! it’s on my list…

  6. I love to eat color also!! 🙂

    I have both red and yellow quinoa in the house right now, and a couple weeks ago finished the black… my favorite is yellow, I think, and I really like red too. this bowl looks delicious!

  7. kathleen

    I wish I had a juicer. A man sells his apples at the farmers market for less than $1/lb. Not a bad price for fujis. I would love to juice them.

Leave a Reply

