Mucho Nachos

When Binks and I met, we explored a lot of restaurants.

As two broke law students, we explored a lot of fast food.

I love the fried chicken and burgers and fries fast food places.

Binks loves the faux-Mexican fast food places.  Namely, he and I frequented Taco Bueno and shared a platter of Mucho Nachos.

I’m a nacho fan.  I love the half crispy and half soaked in beans, cheese and salsa chips.  Talk about an explosion of flavor and texture.

Since we got settled, got married and got 15 extra pounds on our frames, we started exploring healthier options of our past favorites.

When Binks recently made another batch of his light-your-ass-hair-on-fire-salsa, I was in the mood for nachos, throwing together a delicious  combination of on-hand ingredients.


Quantity: Mucho!

 

Just like our fast-food days, we split a plate.


What’s in that beast you ask?


Chips, salsa, vegetarian organic refried pinto beans (recipe follows), homemade cheese sauce (recipe follows), red onions, tomato, and jalapeno pepper.

Did I mention we enjoyed it?


Quick Refried Pinto Beans

*Because so many canned refried beans do not have any added flavor

1 (15 oz) can of vegetarian refried pinto beans

1 tsp cumin

½ tsp garlic powder

¼ tsp onion powder

½ tsp salt

¼ cup salsa

Mix all ingredients together.  Heat and serve warm.  Or, if using for nachos, add onto chips.

Quick Homemade Cheese Sauce

*Because some of us do not keep Velveeta on hand.

3 oz cheddar cheese, shredded

¼ cup salsa

Mix ingredients and heat in microwave for 20 seconds at a time, stirring after eat microwave session until you reach a smooth consistency.  Pour onto chips immediately.

Do you fast food?  What’s your favorite place?  How do you recreate your favorites at home?  Is it a healthy recreation?

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Vegetarian

13 responses to “Mucho Nachos

  1. We don’t ever get fast food anymore, but I make a pretty mean protein smoothie that tastes VERY similar to a Wendy’s frosty!! 🙂

  2. mmmmm – loooks delicious!!! And way to healthify it some with less cheese, etc! Yum!

  3. I love nachos too! In fact chips and tortilla chips are one of my biggest temptations!! I do try to recreate favorite restaurant items at home, and try to make it healthier, but some things – like mac and cheese, or cookies – are really not just meant to be healthy and I enjoy them full-fat 😉

  4. do you ever go to Zuzu’s? They have great nachos! But i must admit, yours look even better.

  5. Love that you amped up the skill and homemade flavor with the the beans! I would take these over greasy bar nachos any day.

  6. I love the cheap Mexican spots- Southwestern Moe’s is one of my favorites!
    I also love Sonic. And don’t so much attempt to recreate the magic, but just to enjoy it on special occasion… 🙂

  7. mmmm not so much about refried beans…but nachos are my FAV!

  8. Mmm.I love it when the chips get soggy. Better yet, when half the chip is soggy and the other half is crunchy. I used to do fast food back in middle and high school. Then I decided I was over my mom’s meat filled dinners and became a vegetarian at 16. I haven’t really done fast food since then.

  9. eva626

    i like going to the chinese buffet! but would rather make stir fry at home and lessen the salt…and no MGS!

  10. YES YES YES YES! Go nacho or go home! Those look absolutely fantastical and I am all about the toppings. I could eat nachos every day and be happy! Food Network Magazine had a little insert the other month with 50 ideas for nachos and I’ve yet to flip through it since I would probably make each and every one.

    I heart fast food. However, whereas I used to eat it multiple times in ONE week, I now only eat it every few weeks or so.

  11. YUM! In my opinion, a plate of nachos is the ultimate comfort food! Love it!

Leave a Reply

