The Munchies

I have been attempting to make a conscious effort to eat more snacks throughout the day.

I’m generally a three square meals per day person.  I typically (while working) wait until I get hungry and then I eat – ravenously.  ‘Tis not a good thing, my friends.  ‘Tis really not.

So, I made a Central Market run.  Let’s just say I picked up some newbies along with my usuals.

That is my office desk – well a portion of it.  Is it usually covered in food?  Considering I live walking distance to Whole Foods, and made a much-needed Central Market run after paying off taxes yesterday (yikes!), I like to gather the goods and inspect my inventory.

The usuals (not pictured): heirloom oranges, bananas, and grapefruit.  I have been on a citrus kick lately.  Hellooo summer!

I have heard about Justin’s nut butters all over the blog world and finally purchased some.  I have to admit that I’m saving these (I have two more packs) for my San Fran to San Diego trip in May.  Again, after paying taxes yesterday (yikes!), I figured I need to cut down on the eating out costs at home and on vacation and pack some healthy snacks.

Have you bought Justin’s nut butters for an on-the-go snack?  How do you eat it?

Now, if you’ve been through Central Market, you would likely hear the constant popping as you turn the bulk section and come to the dairy aisle.  Have you seen this?  It’s magnificent.

Binks is in love with this.  It’s crunch, it’s light and it pretty much can hold any topping.  Binks also asked the rep behind the machine how much the machine costs and how cool it would be to have one in the house.  I just stood there watching this disaster occur – while eating my sample of Magic Pop with Biscoff  Spread.

Which leads me to the main attraction.


I have coveted the original Biscoff cookie since I had it on a Delta flight once.  Then, I found out about the spread.  It’s been a Biscoff whirlwind in my life.

While I have saved several recipes and made modifications in an attempt to make my own Biscoff cookie and then the Spread, I gave up – for now.  I bought a jar.

And it’s been glorious.

Have you tried Biscoff?  How do you eat it?  Do you love it?  What are some healthy office snacks you keep around?  Are you a snacker or a 3-meals-a-day person? 

29 Comments

Filed under Favorites, Health, Life, Vegetarian

29 responses to “The Munchies

  1. I’m more of a 6-meals a day person (I’m a big snacker!) 😉
    I do buy those Justin’s packs but I usually just eat them at work, with an apple or banana. It gets a little messy sometimes (because it’s too oily) and other times it’s so dry. I’m not a big fan and yet I keep buying it haha.
    My favorite office snacks are: Larabars, homemade trail mix, some Annie’s bunnies, string cheese or cottage cheese or Babybel cheese, and lots of fruits.

  2. I LOVE Biscoff! before it was readily available here in the states, I would buy Speculoos, the European sister, and have it sent… 🙂 I’m a snacker WITH my 3 meals… I generally eat pretty small portions, so snacking in between keeps me from catastrophe: shaky, low blood sugar, GROWLY. 😉

    that magic pop looks awesome.

  3. I haven’t head of biscoff before, but it sure does look good!

  4. I’m a three meals a day person with 1 or 2 snacks…eating frequently just doesn’t work for me. Justin’s nut butters changed my life. You will wonder how you existed before you met Justin. Spread on fruit, toast, take it to go…eat it straight out of the package like I do 😉

  5. I’ve never seen the Biscoff spread around here! It sounds delish!
    I’m a snacker. For realz. I love me a banana with almond butter – it’s my favorite snack!

  6. I really want to try that Biscoff spread! I eat three meals and lots of snacks. I love to eat as much as possible 🙂

  7. Haha. The post title. 🙂 I’ve never tried Biscoff! I should.

  8. i’ve seen those magic pops everywhere. never had one…or the justin’s nut butter!

  9. I like my routine of three square meals and a small snack in the afternoon. I think mentally it’s hard for me to be satisfied with small meals through the entire day…

  10. I’ve had those magic pops! Billy and I used to be obsessed. I haven’t bought them in ages, but I’m at Central Market a couple times a week. I bet we’ve been there at the same time! I eat 5-6 times a day. It works for me. I can’t go more than 3 hours without eating something…well, I can, but I become terribly grumpy.

  11. p.s. Love the Justin’s minis. I take them with me when traveling to add to bananas, apples, or oatmeal.

  12. I am a total 3 meals a day kind of girl, otherwise I feel like I’ve been munching and I feel like I ate too much! Funny how different things work for different people.

  13. I do the same thing—-wait till I’m starving and then eat a lot!

    Justin’s nut butters are great. I put them on toast or I just eat them straight up 🙂 Maple Almond is my fave!

  14. Never tried Biscoff! Have no clue about it actually. Looks yummy.

    I love snacks. I’m definitely a snacker. And would be more so if I worked/lived close to places like Whole Foods. LOL

  15. Amy

    i saw that lady in the store with the magic pops thing…..that was awesome! that alone made me wanna buy them. by the way, i love all the samples in that store. i wish i knew about it earlier! 😦

    • I’m not ashamed to say that the samples make or break the experience. They used to have the most delicious juice samples – omg I would just park my butt there. Like I said, I’m not ashamed. 🙂

  16. I am currently in love with Justin’s Maple Almond Butter. I mean seriously, it’s like one of the most delicious things ever! I’m not sure, but the Biscoff butter seems like a spread that the waffle truck here in NYC sells, but they call is speckuloos. Either way, it’s pure heaven 🙂

  17. I am definitely a snacker, I would go crazy if I wasn’t! I love justin’s to go packets and will bring them along with apples, strawberries, carrot sticks. I have never tried biscoff before, is it like pb??

  18. Pingback: I Woke Up At 3:00 a.m. So United Could Sleep In | OliePants

  19. i seriously eat every 2 hours..it’s sick…but omg I want a biscoff spread!!

Leave a Reply

