Ooh La La.

I know I just wrote about how I never order breakfasts at restaurants.  However, that doesn’t mean that I don’t love to cook it at home – especially on weekends (seen here and here).

And this weekend was no different.

I had crepes on the mind.

So Delicious coconut milk really is so so delicious.  I’ve replaced almond milk for a while with this.  It’s perfect and slightly sweet for the summer.

Whisk your heart out because there is no room for leaving any clumps of any kind.  The French would be very angry otherwise.

I promise you will yield the most delicious, soft and slightly sweet crepes.

I had one plain.

And of course, I had one with Nutella.  It just wouldn’t be as authentic without it.

And, one with blueberries and Nutella.

After eating, I was ready to take my French experience to another level.  So, I popped in the Moulin Rouge DVD and sang my heart out…to Wally.

Très magnifique.

Crepes

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup So Delicious Coconut Milk (you can use regular milk if you want)*
  • 2 tbsp butter, melted
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp turbinado sugar
  • 1 cup flour

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, whisk the eggs.
  2. Whisk in milk and melted butter.  The melted butter should be slightly cooled before adding.  Even then, make sure you constantly whisk while adding the butter as you do not want any cooked eggs.
  3. Add salt and sugar and combine.
  4. Add flour and whisk ensuring that are NO clumps in the batter.
  5. Heat a large, flat non-stick pan over medium-high heat.
  6. Spray pan with cooking spray.
  7. Add 1/2 cup of the mixture to the hot pan and swivel the pan in a circular motion to allow the batter to thinly coat the surface of the pan evenly.
  8. Cook on each side for approximately 2 minutes.  The bottoms of the crepe will be lightly browned.  Don’t cook for too long as it will be dry.

Have you tried crepes (eating and/or making)?  Are you a fan?  Have you been to Paris?  Did you love it?  Have you seen Moulin Rouge?  Do you sing the Elephant Love Medley like I do (i.e. maniac)?

24 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

24 responses to “Ooh La La.

  1. Oh my gosh those crepes look UNBELIEVABLE. I love how nutella makes anything and everything 100x better. Yum!

  2. totally jealous of how pretty your crepes are! mine were so ugly when i tried to make them!!

  3. I have never attempted ACTUAL crepes… I have made what I call crepes, but they are really just large pancakes. I would love to get a pan that would work for crepes – yours look perfect!

    I think So Delicious is… so delicious also 😀

  4. I love crepes! I don’t have them nearly enough though 🙂

  5. Sarah

    Ooh, la, la! That looks incredible! I love So Delicious Coconut Milk! Have you tried their coffee creamer? The French Vanilla is luscious!

  6. Your crepes look amazing! I love coconut milk 🙂

    Mmm….that nutella one makes me hungry!

  7. Amy

    oh man…im seriously gonna have to make this…those look so good!

  8. O
    M
    G

    These look absolutely fantastic! I just finished dinner and was thinking dessert sounds really good right about now and this just killed me! Coconut milk is my newest obsession, it is so much better than almond milk!

  9. Delicious! Nutella is the best way to enjoy these but I have to say, my savory-foods-preferring spouse likes to stuff his crepes with chicken pot pie filling, curry chicken, etc. Just as a delicious – with a slightly less sweet crepe base. Not so French, though.

    • I do like them. My husband lived near a crepe place before we were married and he would get the savory and I would get the sweet and share. Talk about unions! 🙂

  10. kathleen

    oh those look delicious. man i should stop reading food blogs when i am hungry. what am i doing to myself? by the way, i tried the vegan cream of mushroom soup you had after your fast. it was divine.

  11. I’ve never made crepes on my own… however, I do love this place that only serves crepes (sweet and savory!)- does that count? 😉

  12. I love crepes! they are so light and fluffy. Nice touch with the Nutella!

  13. I’ve never made crepes at home, and honestly don’t remember ever trying them – crazy, huh? They look delicious!

  14. I LOVE crepes! Especially with Nutella. These look too good to be true!

Leave a Reply

