In a Funky Slump

If you noticed lately, I have not been posting that many food-related pictures or recipes as per normal.  Since the juice cleanse, and a week of the SCD diet, I have not been very keen on food lately.

I’m not sure what it is, but this phase has hit before where I just take a week break from eating my own food.

I haven’t had one inkling of desire to cook anything.  I have been wanting to try out coconut flour based recipes for a while, but NADA.  I don’t want to eat my own cooking, and all I have been craving are fruits and juice.  Who knew I would go backwards to the juice cleanse.

I think it might be that this recipe went seriously wrong and I’m scared to retry with another SCD recipe.  It’s totally my fault btw – b/c I’m pretty sure there is a fine difference between almond meal and almond flour.  I used the former.  I probably should have used the latter.

So, all in all – I’m in a cooking slump.

Do you get in a cooking slump?  What do you do?  What do you eat?  How do you regain your mojo?  Have you cooked with coconut or almond flour?

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “In a Funky Slump

  1. Amy

    i get in food slumps all the time! like right now haha. i usually check out blogs for motivation or food magazines like cooking light or clean eating. ive never cooked with coconut or almond flour…sounds kinda interesting though!

  2. I get in cooking slumps for sure! I was so busy over the weekend with work and activity that my “cooking” was making a quick salad, grabbing a larabar for the road, an apple & almond butter if I had time…I ate more dried fruit and nuts than anyone should ever eat, but it’s what I was craving and so easy for on-the-go!

  3. i feel ya girl…me too. i’m trying my best to break out of it!

  4. I’ve definitely been there before. Sometimes I just get burnt out and uninterested in cooking. I usually just roll with it. I’ll eat really simple things like eggs + toast, pasta, salads, etc. And go out to eat a lot…

    The cooking slump has happened to me a few times in the past and I usually get my drive back after a week or so. I’m sure you’ll find your mojo again, soon!

  5. I’m in a slump too…I think I’ll just wait it out! I have thought about forcing the issue a little, but really it would just be to give me something pretty to take pics of. So I’m going with the flow instead.

    I have almond flour and coconut flour…and have used both, but not for anything spectacular!

  6. I’m often in a slump. I make the same things with little variations pretty much every week. That’s why if I post about food, it’s more likely to be about something I baked rather than the 100th salad or stirfry I made for dinner/lunch.

  7. Oh friend! I understand…mainly because I desperately need to grocery shop and have no options left at home. On an unrelated note I was watching TV last night and something made me think of you (I honestly don’t remember now what it was) and I thought “My friend Susan”…even though we’ve never met! I guess you’re an internet blogging lovely friend!

  8. I get in cooking slumps all the time. In fact, I’m in one right now!

  9. My cooking slumps are usually stress/time related but I definitely go through them. Now that I’m temporarily at home you can’t pry me away from my kitchen! :)

  10. I get in cooking slumps constantly! I try to buy a new ingredient so I can try a new recipe :)

  11. Slumps suck. I am in one right now where I have a bunch of food, just no motivation to cook. Times like these are where I would love to have a cook on hand! They often come for me when it gets warmer out as opposed to when its cooler out. I usually just wait it out and hope it passes soon or I start menu planning so it gives me something to look forward to cooking wise.

  12. Pingback: Mojo | OliePants

Leave a Reply

