I Get Ideas.

On weekdays, what gets me up is the alarm clock (with continuous snooze button problems), and the need to get to work on time to send out e-mails, briefs, discovery and the like.

On weekends, mornings slow down just a little.  Even when the world springs forward, I remain in bed and make up for that extra hour.  On weekends, what gets me up is an idea.  An idea that if I were to get up, I will have enough time to make this.

Yes, I do have an obsession for all things breakfast.  Yes, I have made pancakes before.  But, I haven’t made these before – buckwheat pancakes.

In bed, the idea of these were magnificent.  In execution, these took the (pan)cake.

Buckwheat Pancakes

Adapted from here

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup ground raw buckwheat groats
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp ground flax seeds
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 cup Lucky Layla Farms drinkable yogurt (you can use buttermilk or almond milk)*
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg [ or 1 flax egg (1 tbsp ground flax + 3 tbsp warm water)]
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil

Directions:

  1. In a blender, mix together all ingredients.
  2. Heat non-stick pan over medium heat.
  3. Once hot, spray with cooking spray.
  4. Pour 1/4 cup at a time onto hot pan.
  5. Heat until golden brown on both sides.
  6. Serve with your favorite toppings.**

*Because I used the drinkable yogurt, which was sweet already, I omitted sugar altogether.  Same goes for sweetened almond milk.  However, if you use buttermilk, or would just prefer a sweeter pancake, use 1 tbsp sugar or up to 2 tbsp turbinado sugar.

**I topped mine with coconut butter and some dulce de leche.

Then, when breakfast was over, what got my butt off my dining chair was the idea of house cleaning, starting my veggie garden, and chores.

What did you do this weekend?  Do you cook with buckwheat?  Have you had any cooking ideas that you executed?  How did it turn out?  Do you know where my title comes from?

26 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

26 responses to “I Get Ideas.

  1. Can you make me breakfast in bed? 😉 this looks awesome and breakfast is my fave meal by far!!! yum!

  2. yum! There’s just something about pancakes that makes me smile – reminds me of breakfast at my grandparents’ house as a kid. I executed some grain-free crackers yesterday – came out pretty good, but excited to experiment some more.

    • I saw your grain-free crackers (I’m assuming the ones on your blog a la Paleo) and they looked delicious! I have to try them once I buy some more almonds.

  3. i must try buckwheat soon! i’ve been seeing it all over the blog world. sounds soo good! i made overnight french toast casserole with homemade challah bread this weekend. yum!

  4. I love buckwheat! The town I’m from has one of the country’s two largest buckwheat mills…so it’s pretty plentiful there 🙂

    I’ve used it in all different ways—it’s such an awesome little pseudograin!

  5. I bought buckwheat pancake mix when I was a kid because the pancakes looked dark and I thought they might be chocolatey… needless to say I didn’t like them! I want to give them another try, though. My tastes have really changed, so I can’t imagine not liking them!

  6. I would love some pancakes with dulce de leche! YUM I made buckwheat pancakes once…but I need to do it again soon.

  7. Dulce de leche would be amazing on pancakes… I’m always looking for new things to stuff/top pancakes with! At some point, I’m sure it’s obnoxious… but I don’t care… 🙂

  8. I’m so glad you get ideas, OliPants!!!

  9. Girl, that breakfast looks amazing. Again, let me know if you want me to come live with you and Binkster and I will be your taste tester-thanks.

    When I lived in WV, there was a Buckwheat festival every year and used to go to that. Buckwheat pancakes were all the rage there but I’ve never cooked with it.

  10. I really, really, really love pancakes. My all-time favorite breakfast food! Yours look amazing (especially next to that egg!) I can’t wait to try them!

  11. I’ve never cooked with buckwheat, but I seriously adore pancakes! I was just telling my friend yesterday how excited I get for breakfast – it’s my favorite meal of the day!

  12. They look delicious! I’ve never made buckwheat pancakes before.

  13. mmm pancakes! What veggies are you putting in your garden?? I’m still trying to decide what to plant…

  14. Pingback: Bake The Buck | OliePants

  15. I have just recently started experimenting with buckwheat flour… this is purely amazing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

