Cold, Dark & Handsome

Oatmeal, if nothing else, should be adored for its versatility.  While oatmeal typically hits our subconscious “healthy” nerve, there are ways that you can make this ‘everyday’ grain not so ‘everyday’.

For instance, imagine adding a scoop of ice cream (which I need to try!) or placing a slice of birthday cake on top.  The idea of combining a wholesome bowl of oatmeal with a decadent addition is the feeling you get when you watch/are the good girl falling for the bad boy (i.e. Grease, Dirty Dancing, etc).

And, it feels good.

And, I have fallen………………….hard.

As the movie progresses, you realize that the bad boy, despite his rough (chocolate-y) exterior and sexy dancing skills, really is a genuine person who is quite heart-healthy.

So, when you crave something sinful for breakfast, don’t let anyone stop you from having and enjoying what your heart desires.  After all, nobody puts Olie in a corner.

Double Chocolate Overnight Oats

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup Silk Pure Almond Dark Chocolate milk
  • 1 tbsp ground flax seeds
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 ripe banana
  • 1 small pinch of salt

Directions:

  • Mash banana in a bowl.
  • Add oats, flax seeds, chia seeds and salt.  Mix until combined.
  • Add almond milk and stir to combine.
  • Cover bowl and store overnight.
  • The next morning, the liquid will completely soak into the oats.
  • Pour another 1/2 cup of Silk Pure Almond Dark Chocolate milk into your bowl.

What’s your favorite good girl/bad boy movie?  What’s your favorite movie?  How do you jazz up your oatmeal?

10 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Uncategorized, Vegan

10 responses to “Cold, Dark & Handsome

  1. ooohhh… chocolate milk would be a good way to mix it up! That’s quite the idea…

  2. I love your Dirty Dancing reference! Have you seen St. Elmo’s Fire? One of my favorite bad boys ever played by a seriously hot, young Rob Lowe. I crave oatmeal in the fall with banana, pumpkin and cinnamon. And I like crunchy things in my oatmeal, too, for texture.

  3. Oh, I’m all over this!
    My fave bad boy/good girl movie doesn’t exactly fit, but it’s 10 things I hate about you.

    I don’t have a fave movie—-but I really love several, including secret life of bees!
    I don’t eat a lot of oatmeal…but I love buckwheat groats, and I love to stir in sun warrior protein and put a blob of sunbutter on it.

  4. This is ridiculous – have you been spying on my breakfasts?? Haha. The past couple of weeks I’ve been using that dark chocolate almond milk with my oatmeal and cereal. And the other day I went the extra mile and added a sprinkle of shaved chocolate on top of my oatmeal. Oh yes.

    I have not tried it for overnight oats yet thought but that will be remedied very soon. Yay for bad boys I mean chocolate.

  5. LOVING the chocolate milk addition–look at you Miss Sassy!

  6. Thanks for the link love, my dear! I haven’t done that in far too long, and that was a good reminder to pick up some coconut milk ice cream! I have been debating back and forth on buying that Dark Chocolate almond milk, but I’m pretty sure that photo has me oh so convinced to pick some up! 🙂 Also, Dirty Dancing will always be one of my favorites. ❤

  7. bahahahaha I love it! Hmmm….. I can’t think of an example off the top of my head for some reason — but I’m sure I love a zillion movies with that plot =)

  8. Chocolate milk sounds like the best addition ever!

  9. Love the addition of chocolate milk!! I’ve been loving chocolate banaana smoothies lately so this is right up my alley!

Leave a Reply

