Let’s Get Some Freaking French Toast!

I haven’t drank in a while.  So, when my friend turned 29 and requested that we go chill at a bar, I should have known that a margarita, half a shot (I share), and two beer would not treat me well. When I woke up the next morning, my eye lids were stuck together.  Dehydrated anyone?!

All I had on the brain was breakfast, and I was thinking pancakes.  Binks on the other hand was craving bacon like a mad man.  He looked through and through the fridge to see if we had any – despite my hoarse-self telling him we didn’t.  Refusing to let sleeping pigs lie, he headed for the grocery store.  One thing I can say about this man – he is a go-getter.

While the car sped away from the garage and after I got in a good eye-roll in at his antics, I went to the kitchen to see what I could create.

What else could there possibly be when you have milk, eggs, stale homemade bread?

My bread.

My breakfast station.  Notice in the upper left quadrant the crazy bacon man Binks.

Old and crusty becomes moist and fluffy.  Yes, I know what I just said.

Open wide!  Yes, I continue to know what I’m saying.

And just maybe the jar filled with heaven made an appearance.

Prior to this experience (and it was a glorious one), I had not eaten French toast for more than a year.  I never order it at restaurants because it always disappoints.  But, not this day.  This day, I grabbed a fork and savored each and every beautiful bite.

French Toast

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 milk
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 small pinch of salt
  • 4 slices of thick stale bread

Directions:

  1. Add flour to a large but flat bowl.  You want to use this same bowl to soak up the bread.
  2. Whisk in one egg to the flour.
  3. Whisk in milk and vanilla until smooth.
  4. Add cinnamon, sugar, and salt and stir.**
  5. Heat pan over medium heat.
  6. While the pan his heating, place bread slices in the mixture until soaked on each side.  (I typically soak each side for 30 seconds).
  7. Place soaked bread slices onto the pan and cook until golden brown on either side.

**Keep stirring the mixture in between soaking the slices so that the cinnamon doesn’t just float to the top, but rather stays incorporated into the mixture.

So really – grab a fork and start your eating journey up and down this beautiful piece of bread.  And, no, I will not stop talking. 🙂

Do you like French toast?  Would you drive to the store just to pick up some bacon?  Have you checked out Lindsay’s French Toast?  Have you seen The 40 Year Old Virgin? What do you like to eat when you’re hung over?

39 Comments

Filed under Bread, Breakfast, Favorites, Vegetarian

39 responses to “Let’s Get Some Freaking French Toast!

  1. I don’t even have words for that. It looks amazing and not soggy like some French toasts can tend to be. Amazing! And yes, I have seen 40-year-old virgin too many times to name here – it’s genius!

  2. Oh, hello french toast! Yours looks fab—I’m totally into the big crusty bread 🙂

  3. I love french toast but haven’t made it in forever. This has got to change!

  4. hahaha…whenever anyone says “french toast”, I think of that movie 🙂 Yours looks AMAZING. I do like french toast. I actually made a vegan version a while back that I’ve come to favor over the regular stuff. And fruit is very necessary on top 🙂 Enjoy your day

  5. I love French Toast! Haven’t made it in ages, but should asap. Billy would crawl to the store for bacon, if necessary. I’ll make a trip just for bananas. 🙂

  6. That is some damn good looking french toast. I never order it out because it’s always too sweet to me, but I love some good homemade french toasty goodness!

    • I don’t order it for the same reason and it comes out with a weird texture usually. And, I tend to taste too much egg. But homemade is where it’s at!

  7. French toast is my favorite breakfast food of all time, I absolutely love it. My favorite hangover foods though are always greasy, the greasier the better, so I would’ve been ALL OVER that bacon.

  8. I’m not a french toast lover – I’d rather have pancakes any day!
    And I love pizza when I’m hungover – greasy, cheesy goodness! 🙂

  9. I love French toast. It makes me happy inside. 🙂

  10. Mmmmm that looks so yummilicious! I call french toast froast nowadays 😛

  11. I LOVE french toast. I made some things weekend but they looked nothing like yours. Yours looks much better! 🙂

  12. That looks SO good! My fav hangover food is a nice greasy cheeseburger, ohhhh yeah.

  13. I LOVE French toast! I have gone to the store for just squash, so I understand your need for bacon 🙂

  14. I would DEVOUR that plate! yummmmm!!! It came out GORGEOUS too!

  15. I am a wino, but when I drink liquor boy do I get dehyhdrated! I try to juice in the morning and have some hearty brekafast. Like that deliciousness you just posted. gahh!!!

  16. haha thanks for the shoutout lady 🙂 your FT looks fab…and i def feel your pain on the hangover. also, 40 year old virgin is an amazing movie!

  17. So……can I come live with you and you can cook me up a bunch of yummy carbs each day? I’ll clean and provide witty banter, it would be awesome.

    I LOVE 40 yr old Virgin–it’s one of my favorite movies. And now I’m going to be saying I want some french toast the rest of the evening—argh!

  18. Good French toast is one of my favorite foods. I agree it is difficult to find it outside the home kitchen. Yourd looks wonderful. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  19. The greasier the better when I’m hung over. In undergrad it was McDonalds. Anything breakfast and made in a skillet works!

  20. The things men will do for their bacon. Honestly, I put so mugch bacon in my husband’s spaghetti sauce he other day (per his request) that I thought to myself, “what amount if bacon grease actually constitutes trying to kill my husband?”

  21. I LOOOVE French toast. I would say I love it better than any other breakfast bread. And crusty bread is the best type of bread! I have yet to try it in french toast!

  22. I have been dying to try making french toast. But for some reason, I always switch to pancakes last minute (it’s like a weekend tradition!).

  23. Looks delish! I just posted french toast as well. Its one of my favs!

    xo

  24. I have never made French Toast before…actually it’s been years since I’ve indulged! This looks amazing. I must try it with gluten-free bread – which already tastes stale so this is perfect. 🙂

  25. French toast is my absolute favorite. Every year growing up we went on a camping trip 7 hours away and had to stop both on the way there and when coming home for breakfast. My grandpa always ordered french toast so I did the same. I LOVE it and crave it all the time. Nothing worse than nasty soggy french toast. This makes me want to make some sooon!

  26. Pingback: I Get Ideas. | OliePants

  27. Pingback: Mojo | OliePants

  28. Pingback: Ooh La La. | OliePants

  29. Pingback: French Toast Casserole | OliePants

Leave a Reply

