Dulce.

Remember when I told you that it was my mom’s and MIL’s goal to just hook me up to a machine that feeds me nothing but milk?  Turns out despite how much I try (I don’t really even care to try), I cannot finish a gallon of raw cow’s milk alone (Binks hates milk).  And, I don’t care to.  Not because it’s not delicious.  Not because I have something against raw milk.

But rather, to me – milk is a food, not a beverage.  (It is mom(s)!)  I can only eat so much of it and so often.  I can’t drink with reckless abandon like I do most beverages (namely, water, vodka and wine – not necessarily in that order).

With that said, I can’t bring myself to throw it away.

So what to do with a gallon of milk that requires little attention on my part?  Dulce de leche.

Most dulce de leche recipes you may find simply require you to boil a can of sweetened condensed milk until it caramelizes.  But, I had to take it back to the start.

As it turns out – all you need is milk, sugar, vanilla beans, baking soda and water (<– not quite sure why you need the last two).  Using this recipe, I transformed half of my gallon of milk into a beautiful dessert/sauce/jam product that I will surely make again when I have milk to spare.

This transformed a quart of milk to a mere cup and a half of dulce de leche.

Check out the vanilla bean speck bounty.

The uses for dulce de leche are endless: topping on ice cream, oatmeal; jam on bread, shortbread, cookies; filling in cakes; dips for fruit; etc.

If you find yourself wanting a decadent caramel treat, I encourage you to try this recipe and tell me your uses for this most decadent of treats.

16 Comments

Filed under Desserts, Favorites, Vegetarian

16 responses to “Dulce.

  1. Oh my goodness! I never thought to make this myself, but it makes so much sense. I love this idea! Sweet little jar too 🙂

  2. I don’t drink milk either. If I didn’t have my daughter and husband I would be wasting a lot of milk too!

  3. I don’t care for milk at all either! I much prefer soy or almond. This is a great use of milk, though!

  4. ahhh ohmygosh I wish I had read this years ago while trying to grapple for words to explain to mommies why their kids cannot drink the 8 glasses of milk a day that they are letting them pound with reckless abandon! yes! milk IS a food! and maybe even a dessert! (ok im reaching here! hehe)

    I knew I loved you for a reason =) have a fabulous weekend dearie! ❤

  5. Did you know that humans can’t drink a gallon of milk at once. It’s physically impossible. One of those weird human quirks. I love the dulce de leche idea. I usually just turn the milk my husband doesn’t drink into yogurt.

  6. Wow, that looks amazing! So pretty too. 🙂

  7. I am really impressed. While I’ve simmered cans of condensed milk I’ve never made dulce de leche completely from scratch. I’m new to your blog and have just spent some time browsing through your earlier entries. I’m so glad I did. I really like the food and recipes you feature here. I’ll definitely be back. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  8. What a great idea!!! This would be perfect in homemade cinnamon rolls…..mmmmmmm…… 🙂

  9. Pingback: Let’s Get Some Freaking French Toast! | OliePants

  10. Pingback: I Get Ideas. | OliePants

  11. Pingback: Bake The Buck | OliePants

  12. Pingback: Can’t Judge A Quinoa By Its Color | OliePants

  13. Pingback: Panjiri | OliePants

  14. Pingback: Dulce De Leche (The Easy Way) | OliePants

Leave a Reply

