I Whip My Oats Back And Forth

If you thought my inane post titles were going to change after yesterday, think again!

Being that it’s Friday and all, “I hop up out of the bed and get my swag on, pay no attention to the haters, because we whip ’em off…

Again, inspired by the fabulous KERF, I made banana whipped oatmeal.

It’s creamy.  It’s smooth.  It’s rich.  It’s buttery.  It’s sweet in all the right ways.  It’s not your regular bowl of oats.

That brown glob would be my homemade chocolate peanut butter.  (Delicious!)

And just when you thought I couldn’t put a camera closer to my food:

So “all my ladies [or gents] if you feel it…do it, do it!!

Banana Whipped Oatmeal

Adapted from KERF

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp ground flax
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1 pinch kosher salt
  • 1/2 large ripe banana, chopped*
  • 1/4 cup of blueberries

Directions:

  1. Add oats, flax, chia, salt and vanilla to milk and simmer over medium heat.
  2. When it starts bubbling, add the banana.
  3. Go ape shit and whip it real good!
  4. During the last 1-2 minutes of cooking the oats, add the blueberries and stir.
  5. Enjoy your whipped oats!

Note:  *I like to chop the banana into larger pieces because I want to have pieces of banana in my oats to taste.  The finer you chop your banana, the finer the consistency.  It’s the difference between mashed and smashed potatoes.

Side Question:  Have you heard/read about the study/research on birth order and how it is telling of your personality/character?  If so, what do you think about the study?  Do you think you fit into the birth order roles?  Are you married to or with someone that’s your same birth order or different?  What kind of differences do you notice?

It’s a random question I know – but I have been really focusing in on this research for the past few months.  I know it applies to my life (I’m first-born; so is Binks).  If you think this question is associated to this post, then you are right.

26 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Life, Vegan

26 responses to “I Whip My Oats Back And Forth

  1. Oh my gosh I love the blog title!! Birth order for me and my husband is an interesting topic. I am a “youngest/only” – technically the youngest but there was such a gap I mostly grew up like an only child; my husband is an only but grew up the oldest of enough cousins to know how to counter-balance by “youngest” tendencies.

  2. I’m the second born and baby of my family. I actually have more of the first-born traits than my brother, who’s 3 years older than me. Especially, organization, eagerness to please and never wanting to be in trouble. My boyfriend, the the 3rd born and the baby of his family. He is very laid back and go with the flow. We balance each other out.

  3. Whip oats sound ridiculously good. I have read those studies and I am a very typical first-born!!

  4. Your bowl of oats looks amazingly delicious! I want some now 🙂
    I am the second of two childs and my husband is the last of three. We are totally different.

  5. You had me cracking up at this post title! haha. I TOTALLY believe in the birth order studies. I am undoubtedly a first born (so is Shaun), and my two younger sisters and undoubtedly a middle child and youngest. So fascinating!

  6. I am definitely a middle child! So funny to read how accurate those descriptions are! Whipped oats = Amazing morning!

  7. your title was cracking me up! Now that song is stuck in my head! haha.
    LOVE the whipped oats idea.

  8. I love the title of this post!

    And these oats looks damn good! My daughter and I could live off this alone!

  9. Pingback: Tweets that mention I Whip My Oats Back And Forth | OliePants -- Topsy.com

  10. Have you seen the video for Whip My Hair Back and Forth? Now I can’t stop thinking about you whipping oatmeal out of your hair all over the place! 😉

  11. Damn, that looks fabulous. It’s 9:30PM and now I want oats!!

  12. I’ve been having oats every morning for the past 3 weeks but they do NOT look that good. Delish!

    I am totally a first born – outspoken, loud, attention seeker, control freak, ha! The Dude is a second child and is absolutely a negotiator/balancer. It’s a good pair 🙂

  13. ooohhhh… this is going to be stuck in my head for the rest of the night! Um… thanks?

  14. I’m the youngest in my family and they say the youngest crave the spotlight! That is the total opposite of me, I hate when all the attention is on me (most of the time, at least). I just bought a huge carton of blueberries from TJ’s yesterday and have been eating them nonstop!

  15. I love birth order studies – I wrote a paper on it in one of my psych classes in college (many years ago!). I’m the youngest of 3, Billy is the middle of 3. We have some of the traits, but not all of them. Actually, I’d say Billy really goes against the norms for a middle child. I’m going to have to go review the characteristics! 🙂

    • Well I had no idea I was speaking to an expert! 🙂 I read about it briefly when it was out on the news and morning shows, but never followed up after that. Until recently that is! I find it extremely fascinating!

  16. That chocolate peanut butter looks AMAZING. Awesome!

  17. I love reading about birth order! It’s the opposite in my family- my brother is the oldest and does NOT fit the stereotypical oldest child role at all.

  18. Pingback: The Kitchen List – The Play | OliePants

Leave a Reply

