Cilantro You Glad I Didn’t Say Basil?

Did I mention that I love sandwiches?  And I have been having them!  They have been delicious – especially the addition of hummus.

But, as with the seasons, it was time for a change.

There’s a new sandwich spread in town and it’s not fancy.  It’s not shmancy.  It’s just really good.  Like really. good.

Cilantro Pesto.

Say hello.

Note:  I hate raw unadulterated cilantro.  It’s got too much of a bite that I can’t take.

So, when I started making this, I thought this might be a no-go.  Not so.

The mix of the spicy cilantro with the mellow walnut and the nutty parmesan really make this spread/sauce work beautifully together.  Like having the perfect number of people on the see-saw to make it go up and down. 

You didn’t just have one person on each side did you?  If so, well…we rolled a little differently at my school.  It could have been that the swing-set was always ‘under repair’ from some kid that broke it or tossed up the swing seats and got it rolled on the bars – were you that kid?  If so, I’m mad at you.

Back to the pesto!

It’s yummy.

It’s cheap.  Basil is way more expensive than cilantro.  And, pine nuts – don’t even get me started on that price!

Helpful hint:  Instead of having to mince garlic for the spread, put it first into the food processor before adding everything else.

So you can imagine what my lunch looked like today!

A fabulous sandwich with sliced turkey and gouda.

It pairs well with dijon mustard.

For all that is good and great – go home, make this dip.  It will change your life.

Cilantro Pesto

Inspired by KERF

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch cilantro, rinsed
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese, shredded
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 4 tbsp olive oil

Directions:

  • Mince garlic cloves in food processor.
  • Add cilantro, walnuts and parmesan cheese; puree  until it forms a paste.
  • Add salt and pepper.
  • While processing, add olive oil through the spout until everything is mixed together well.

15 Comments

Filed under Favorites, garlic, olive oil, Vegetarian

15 responses to “Cilantro You Glad I Didn’t Say Basil?

  1. I actually LOVE cilantro – my Indian dad would be proud of me for admitting this. I’ve never had it in pesto form though – it looks amazing!

    It might be time to finally splurge and get a food processor!

  2. I love pesto! I’ve never made cilantro pesto before, but it sounds so good. I definitely prefer cilantro to basil.

  3. I have been meaning to try cilantro pesto for the longest time. It looks right up my alley, I am sort of obsessed with cilantro. Especially in guacamole!

  4. Both your title and your playground rant made me smile. :)

  5. This looks delicious! And I love pesto on sandwiches. I make a dairy-free version without the cheese. :)

    • I was deciding if I should leave out the cheese altogether but I had a small piece that I knew nothing else to do with! I will definitely be trying your version next. My fridge is always stocked with cilantro with no use for some reason!

  6. Yeah, I gotta confess to getting sucked in by the title, too – nicely done. I was starting to consider easing up on puns in my titles, but now…. hmmmm.
    This looks awesome! A good spread can make or break a sandwich.It’d be easy enough to use Daiya “cheese” and make this vegan if one were so inclined. My tiny, plastic co-writers and I are gonna put this on “the list” for sure.
    Thanks for posting.

  7. Pingback: I Whip My Oats Back And Forth | OliePants

  8. I LOVE cilantro- this recipe sounds right up my alley! There’s a Mexican market in town that always has cilantro for ridiculously cheap and I always have walnuts on hand. Definitely making this over the weekend. Thanks for sharing!

  9. Pingback: I Woke Up At 3:00 a.m. So United Could Sleep In | OliePants

  10. Pingback: Layered Mediterranean Dip | OliePants

Leave a Reply

