Therapy.

I stress about my little sister – 25 years of age little.

I could write a thesis about all the stressors and graph it for you, but let’s go with the latest stressor.

My sister is dating a guy that I don’t like.Β  And neither does she, but she feels bad leaving him.

After getting off the phone with her about this, I accumulated quite a bit of stress from things I did not say (i.e., “I’m sick of talking to you about the same problem,” “You are an idiot,” “Dump him,” “He is a loser,” “I know what’s best for you,” “I’m smarter than you so do what I say!”).

One thing I’ve learned through time and experience is that telling someone that they are doing the wrong thing over and over doesn’t mean a darn thing unless the other person realizes it for themselves.Β  And also because I said all these things at least 5 times to her in the past month. Whoops! πŸ™‚

You would think she would learn from her past – like the time she was allegedly IN LOVE with a guy she met during summer vacation – a 5 day vacation.Β  Hasn’t she heard of the term “summer fling,” or in this case “summer mini-hit-it-and-split-it-fling”?

I needed relief.Β  It was cookie time.

It started with one.

That led to many.

That led to this.

I think I’ll send this to her with a note: “Plenty of fish in the sea, and you had to find this flop…”

πŸ™‚

I won’t!

What kind of note would you send?Β  To who? Why? How do your relieve stress in a non-exercise way?

24 Comments

Filed under baking, Cookies, Life

24 responses to “Therapy.

  1. You should totally send her the fish cookie!!

    I hope she dumps this guy asap so you, but most importantly her can be happy πŸ™‚

  2. ohhhh lady i feel your pain. my little sister (she’s 23) is one of the biggest stressors in my life as well. and like you, i bake when i’m stressed. although i cannot draw cool fish with icing like you. i wish i could.

  3. It’s hard to watch someone you care about make bad decisions, but ultimately they have to figure things out for themselves.

    I usually deal with stress with cookies too πŸ™‚ Sorry I’m not sorry!

  4. You’re spot on though…nobody ever changes something that drastic unless they realize for themselves why and what they’re making the decision. I’m so in love with the fact that you made and decorated cookies! That’s what I do too!

  5. Haha! I love that cookie! I would give it to her. πŸ˜‰

    I bake and write when I’m stressed and I don’t want to go for a run to relieve stress!

  6. I bake to relieve stress or I scrub the floors…sometimes both. I would send a note to a friend’s sister who is stuck on a guy that broke up with her. Happiness is not found in a partner, although they can definitely enhance it!

  7. Your post sounds like mine ha. Sorry to hear that your sis is unhappy but I think she should def talk to him about why she’s un happy because it’s unhealthy for both parties. I love your cookies!! Those looks super yummy! When I’m stressed I usually listen to music or clean. It just helps to feel better πŸ™‚

  8. Aww! Sorry your sister is in the dumps! That is a bummer. You should totally send her the fish cookie and a note πŸ˜‰

  9. Hehehehe, I’m the bad little sister. I can’t imagine how much it pained my big sis to watch me run through losers (not to mention my addiction issues that lasted for years, but that’s a whole ‘nother ball game). I am with a great guy now though (and 3 years clean and sober, woot!), so there’s hope for her after all! πŸ˜‰

  10. Yikes! Always tough to give anyone advice on guys since at the end of the day they will do what they want anyways. To destress I usually read or surf blogs. I always find a new one to add to the mass number I already follow. I also like to go shopping!

  11. Hahaha that fish design is really good! That is such a tough situation. I like to relieve stress but making bread. Yummy carbs and relieve tension through kneading!

  12. Thank God we have baking and cooking as a stress reliever!! I’m loving the fish!!

  13. Awwww I love the little starfish cookies. I would totally send the note but then again I am brass and don’t take peoples feelings into account sometimes so you may not want to take my route πŸ™‚

    Unfortunately, most of the time you have to learn on your own. I know I have—I would be dating a total jerk, all my friends would tell me this and I wouldnt believe them. Then 2 months later, I see what they are talking about. It blows.

  14. Open up a bottle of wine! The exact opposite of a healthy way to relieve stress πŸ™‚ I am the oldest in my fam with 2 younger sisters and I love them to death!

  15. I bake when I’m stressed, too!! And the good thing about family is that you can tell them the truth! But she’ll figure it out………and then she’ll have her big sister for a shoulder to cry on…….and then move on. πŸ™‚

  16. My brother dates the most ridiculous girls – they take advantage of his generosity and then dump him. Every single time! I wish that you were closer so we could set up our siblings.

    In the meantime I have to say that you are one talented cookie decorator my friend!! Gorgeous cookies.

  17. Pingback: I Whip My Oats Back And Forth | OliePants

  18. Pingback: ABC’s of ME! | OliePants

  19. Pingback: What’s Up. | OliePants

Leave a Reply

