The Way Veggies Should Taste

Have you seen those ranch commercials?  Where everything is a vegetable and kids are happily eating it because they have the option of dunking said vegetable in ranch dressing?

I see those commercials.  And, I crave ranch dressing.  I love ranch and could/have eaten it on everything.  Forgive me Father for I have sinned….with Ranch Dressing.

Despite my obsession with ranch dressing, the idea of enticing kids to eat vegetables slathered in ranch (or cheese flavored sauce) is a little off.

I admit – I don’t have kids.  But, I hated uncooked vegetables growing up.  To this day, I have some reservations.  The thought of eating raw broccoli without any sort of dressing/liquid makes my mouth dry.

I too would rely on ranch dressing to save my non-liked raw vegetables.  It made every bite of my raw broccoli taste divine.  After a couple of months, I realized that every salad or vegetable that I dunked (literally) in ranch dressing was not me craving vegetables, but rather a not-so-secret way of getting my daily dose of ranch dressing.  I don’t know if I left liking the vegetable more.  I dare say I did not.

I fell victim to this.

What has changed today?  Nothing with regards to broccoli.  Raw – the florets are a little hard for me to chew through.

My non-ranch resolution?

HUMMUS!!

Nowadays, I use hummus on almost everything.  A replacement for mayo, the protein in a wrap, dip for my veggies – even broccoli.

What’s your healthy replacement?  Do you like eating raw veggies?  Raw broccoli?  If not, how do you deal?

Hummus

Adapted from here

Ingredients

  • 1 (16 oz) can garbanzo beans, drained but reserve 1/4 liquid
  • 2 lemons
  • 1/3 cup tahini
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp olive oil

Directions

  • Throw everything into the food processor and puree until smooth.
  • Transfer to a bowl and top with the paprika and one more tablespoon of olive oil.  If you have sumac spice on hand, use that in place of paprika.
18 Comments

Filed under garlic, Health, olive oil, Vegan

18 responses to “The Way Veggies Should Taste

  1. I like some veggies raw, but I prefer some cooked. I used to like raw broccoli until I roasted it- now, I can’t have it any other way!

  2. Hummus rules so hard… it’s my favorite sandwich condiment too! 🙂

  3. I LOVE hummus with raw veggies. I like celery and carrots with almond butter. I also like to dice celery, carrot, broccoli and cauliflower and mix them with Italian dressing. (It’s even better with shredded cheese on top)

  4. not gonna lie, i was kinda waiting for you to make broccoli hummus 🙂

  5. Your hummus looks delicious! My life changed when I started making hummus at home. It’s so fun to mix it up each time adding different ingredients. I like mine spicy! And I also use hummus for just about any condiment. I love it.

    • I don’t think I’ll buy it again now – I think I got my combination down for the Olie Original. I need to work on my spicy. Next time, I’ll try it with roasted garlic! 🙂

  6. I actually prefer raw veggies to cooked ones…and I can eat them straight up, with no dressing or liquid. However, if hummus is available…well then all bets are off.

  7. I love hummus. It is wonderful. My favorite way to eat it is with pita chips. Yum!

  8. This is too funny…I JUST posted yesterday on Twitter that I much prefer roasted broccoli to raw. Raw broc is definitely tough for me to chew – I’m not sure why!

  9. I love hummus so much! It is great on everything, even just on a cracker 🙂

  10. Pingback: Layered Mediterranean Dip | OliePants

  11. Pingback: Baba Ghanoush (Eggplant Dip) | OliePants

  12. Pingback: Lemony Lentil Soup | OliePants

Leave a Reply

