Indulge Me

So it’s snowing/icing in Dallas.  You obviously know what that means?  Schools closed.  Empty roads.  Cancelled appointments.  Waking up at 9:00 a.m.  And…most importantly.  Pancakes!

I used to make pancakes a lot.  But, these days, without the time to prepare anything but oatmeal or smoothies or quinoa in the morning, pancakes have fallen by the wayside.

But, not this day!

This day calls for pancakes.  And I’m kickin’ it oat-style!

Look at that fluff!

And I thought – why not indulge a bit with the mini chocolate chips, raspberry drizzle, sunflower seeds and chia seeds.

I started on this side:

Ohhhh  yeaaaaa…

 

Oatmeal PancakesVegan

adapted from here

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tbsp turbinado sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup almond milk (or buttermilk or milk of choice)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 flax egg (1 tbsp ground flax-seed and 3 tbsp warm water)

Directions:

  • Put all ingredients into the blender and blend until smooth consistency.
  • Heat griddle/non-stick pan over medium heat.
  • Lightly oil or spray with cooking spray.
  • Pour about 1/4 cup or 1/2 cup (depending on your preference) into the pan and cook until golden brown on both sides.
  • Serve with your favorite topping.

Raspberry Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1 – 12 oz bag – frozen raspberries
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice

Directions:

  • Pour entire bag of raspberries, sugar, lemon juice and water into saucepan.
  • Heat over med-low heat until simmering.
  • Simmer for 8 minutes, until the raspberries have broken down and the sugar has dissolved.
  • Remove from heat.
  • Allow to cool (can be done the day ahead).
  • You can strain it through a medium sieve/strainer or serve with the seeds. 

I don’t mind the seeds.  I use this sauce on my cheesecakes too – delicious!

What are you indulgences on a snow-day or a weekend morning?

30 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Favorites, Vegan

30 responses to “Indulge Me

  1. amy

    those look awesome! since im not going anywhere today (also in dallas haha) maybe ill make me some!

  2. I wish I could make pancakes! Gahhhhh!!! Whenever I make them, I undercook them, overcook them, they fall flat, they are rubbery, etc.

    Want to make some for me? 😉

  3. This looks FANTASTIC!!! I’ve been on the hunt for a lighter, healthier pancake (my favorite style of breakfast). Thanks for sharing this!

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Indulge Me | OliePants -- Topsy.com

  5. Wow. That looks awesome! I’ve never thought about topping pancakes with sunflower seeds! I love sunflower seed butter now…I bet that might be yummy too!

  6. omg, YUM! your pancakes look so incredibly fluffy and delicious! I’m so glad I found your blog; and I can’t wait to read more! Also, I’m super jealous of your ice and snowy roads…we were supposed to get that in Ohio, but No such luck! 😦

  7. These pancakes look so pretty! My snow day will definitely be slow-cooked oatmeal with all the trimmings: milk, banana, prunes or raisins and chopped pecans. With some hot chocolate on the side 🙂

  8. No snow days here… but pancakes are a necessity on weekends!

  9. um YES PLEASE…i want to eat 17 of those!

  10. Pancakes are so magical… and I love your choice of toppings!!

  11. shortystylee

    All that snow from your area has made it’s way to the midwest now, so I think I’ll have a chance to make a snow day breakfast tomorrow 🙂 not sure what it will be yet, but those pancakes look amazing. I have some lemon preserves that would go great on some whole wheat pancakes!

    Jessica

  12. We are getting hit pretty hard here too in Chicago, they are calling it Snow-magedon. Of course, I think this is all hilarious, growing up in Minnesota this is nothin’! haha Love the pancakes, especially the fun toppings! I haven’t had pancakes in forever but now I’ll be craving them!! Happy snow day to ya!

  13. Those are so gorgeous. So gorgeous I almost wouldn’t want to eat them. Almost.

    I love making a big breakfast on the wknds, if I have the ingredients and feel awake–pancakes or french toast are ideal!

  14. I didn’t have a total snow day – just evening classes cancelled tonight – but I did indulge myself in a chocolate bar, at home manicure, and a big bowl of pasta!

  15. I made pancakes yesterday morning too. I think you’re are slightly healthier than mine, but they look amazing!

  16. Holy crap, these look good. We had pancakes this past weekend for breakfast – they’re a regular occurrence in our house!

  17. great way to celebrate snow day! Although I am rather sick of this cold, you?
    Stay warm today!

  18. Oh my gosh, yes please! Those look fabulous!

  19. That raspberry drip is to-die-for. yum.

  20. These pancakes look great! I love all the yummy toppings. Thanks for stopping by. I hope you enjoy making decorations for your sugar cookies 🙂

  21. oh wow…that looks amazing! I couldn’t eat it for breakfast though but at dinner time…oh yeah…bring it on! 🙂

  22. Pingback: Let’s Get Some Freaking French Toast! | OliePants

  23. Pingback: I Get Ideas. | OliePants

  24. Pingback: Ooh La La. | OliePants

  25. Pingback: Cream Cheese Pound Cake | OliePants

  26. Pingback: Recipes for Valentine’s Day | OliePants

  27. Pingback: White Chocolate Mango Cheesecake | OliePants

Leave a Reply

