Quin-who?

Quinoa is what’s up!  Since this has been a week of firsts, I have to share my first quinoa experience with you!

I have heard about this grain for a long time but have never gotten around to buying it.  Not anymore.  I swaggered over to Whole Foods and loaded up on some red quinoa.

Quinoa is grain discovered in South American which was touted as the “gold of the Incas.”

And you cannot believe how good it is for you!  It’s a complete protein, which means that it contains all the amino acids necessary for our nutrition.  A complete protein is very rare to find.  It’s a great source of protein and gluten-free!!  That’s just the tip of the iceberg of what this wonderful grain does for us!

My first and only use thus far has been breakfast.  I used the base recipe from here and topped it with coconut butter, sunflower seeds, blueberries and a dash of agave nectar!

DELICIOUS!!!

Quinoa, along with lentils and oats, are now a part of my staples!

Do you cook with quinoa?  What are your favorite recipes?

 

22 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Health, Vegan, Vegetarian

22 responses to “Quin-who?

  1. woohoo, love quinoa. i put it in everything….in my stirfrys, on my tacos, on my salads, as a side dish..

  2. I love quinoa!

    My favorite is to use it with orange glazed tofu for some reason. The sticky citrus flavor goes so well with the quinoa.

  3. amy

    i love quinoa! its super easy to make…i usually just stir fry as many veggies as possible and top it with some olive oil and almonds and am good to go! its great for breakfast though too in place of oatmeal

  4. Yes, love quinoa! I cook it in veggie broth, add in some lemon juice, basil and feta. Delicioso!

  5. I love quinoa, but I prefer the brown to the red… I love mush! 😉

  6. I love quinoa but I’ve never had it for breakfast–great idea and yours look gorgy!

    I usually make it with veggies with herbs and extra virgin olive oil or make it at night, save for the next day, toss with cold veggies, laughing cow , lemon juice and extra virgin olive oil.

  7. Try the quinoa zucchini lasagna on Peas and Thank You 🙂 It’s amazing!

  8. What a coincidence!! I’ve never cooked with (or eaten at all, for that matter!) quinoa but I bought some from the grocery store for the first time this week too. I haven’t made it yet, so you’re a step ahead of me, but I will be soon!
    Yay for being trying new things!

  9. O gosh! Question might be–what DON’T I like quinoa with. I love cooking it with veggie broth, adding roasted veggies over the top and plopping an avocado on top of it all. Mix and eat. Delish!!

    Have a great weekend!

  10. I love quinoa! I’m a simple person and I like it on top of spinach and lot’s of veggies! 😀

  11. It looks great! Do ya think it could be made the night before and warmed up in the morning? Maybe just make the quinoa and then add the milk when warming it? Thoughts? Any are appreciated!

  12. I have to be honest, I’m not a quinoa fan. I wish I was since it’s good for me!! 🙂

  13. Your breakfast looks yummy! I love quinoa. One of my all-time favorite quinoa recipes is the Pineapple-Cashew-Quinoa Stir-fry from Veganomicon (I couldn’t post the recipe, but I “review” it here: http://bit.ly/haLD3K). I have yet to find someone that doesn’t love this recipe 🙂

  14. Pingback: Indulge Me | OliePants

  15. Pingback: I Get Ideas. | OliePants

Leave a Reply

