Tempeh Joes

I’m 28 years old.

At the age of 9 when I tasted my first sloppy joe.  And, I still remember the sauce.  Delicious sauce!  I remember seeing the commercials on TV for Manwich sandwiches and see the kids wipe off the red sauce from their mouth with the back of their hand (“I want a Manwich please!”) and wanting my next sloppy joe (and a napkin).

At the age of 13, I had my last sloppy joe.  For no other reason than I moved to high school where sloppy joes were somehow left off the school lunch menu.  And, my Indian mom sure as heck would not be making a sloppy joe at home without adding her own Indian flair to it.  So, in an attempt not to dilute the original, I never requested it.

15 years later…

I bought some tempeh and marinated it in my favorite BBQ sauce.

Ignore the burnt spatula – I love that thing despite what I’ve put it through!

I added it to some sautéed onions, garlic, red and green bell pepper.

And I made my own Tempeh Joes!

And you can’t leave out the slaw (mine was shredded cabbage and carrots quickly warmed in a pan) or the pickle.

I finished and relished every bite!  It brought me back to the cafeteria lunch line, ya’ll – minus the mystery meat, which I discovered at age 15.

Tempeh Joes Recipe

Adapted from here

Ingredients

  • Tempeh, 1 8oz package
  • 1 and 1/4 cup BBQ sauce of your choice*
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 jalapeno, minced (optional)
  • 1 medium green bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 medium red bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 tbsp olive oil

Directions

  • Crumble the tempeh with your hands or a grater until it resembles ground beef.
  • Marinade the tempeh in 1 cup of the BBQ sauce.  I added 1 tsp of Tabasco for a kick.
  • While the tempeh is marinating, prepare your veggies.
  • Heat non-stick pan over med-high heat.
  • Once heated, add oil and wait to heat over same heat.
  • Add onions, garlic, jalapeno (optional), and saute until soft.
  • Add red and green bell peppers and continue to cook until tender and the onions have browned.
  • Add the tempeh and the BBQ sauce to the veggie mix.
  • Cook until heated and cooked through.
  • *Add the 1/4 cup BBQ sauce and cook until warm.
  • Serve on toasted buns (*snicker*)!

*Note:  I like my Tempeh Joes on the saucy side.  If you do not, then omit the 1/4 cup of BBQ and do not add it at the end.

This was my first experience with tempeh and it definitely won’t be my last!

P.S. I made a killer dressing to the slaw that’s creamy without any dairy!  That post is coming up soon! 🙂

Do you cook with tempeh?  If so, what do you do?  What’s your favorite way to cook it?

16 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Uncategorized, Vegan, Vegetarian

16 responses to “Tempeh Joes

  1. I was just thinking about what in the world I was going to make for lunch with my block of tempeh, and here you are inspiring me! BBQ sauce marinated tempeh it is! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Tempeh Joes | OliePants -- Topsy.com

  3. oOOOooO that meal looks delicious! I use tempeh once in a while–and I love the texture it has! Have you tried WHOLE FOODS’ Bone Suckin’ BBQ sauce?! I bet it would be great with you dish.

  4. I love tempeh but usually I just eat it alone. This is GREAT! I’ll have to try this!

  5. That is a genius idea for tempeh, I’m always looking for new and fun creative ways to use tempeh! Looks yummy too. 🙂

  6. So would your mom make curry sloppy joes?? I am intrigued by that, well, the answer at least since me no likey the curry.

    I love sloppy joe’s and can remember the taste if I think really hard since it’s been awhile but I am loving your spin on it. And the slaw. The whole shebang! It’s like a big plate of comfort and I am a comfort girl all the way.

    I’ve only made tempeh in tacos and spaghetti but I am always looking for new ways to mix it up!

  7. This looks so good!! I think my dad had some choice words about Sloppy Joe’s too – I think it’s an Indian thing?

  8. These look great!
    I’ve never cooked with tempeh, but I get it when I’m at a restaurant. It’s a little intimidating to me……

  9. I’ve never had tempeh before…I have to admit, vegetarian products scare me sometimes. But I would definitely try it! Looks really good 🙂

  10. Pingback: Mushrooms and Onions | Purple Bird Blog

  11. I never liked sloppy joes growing up. I never knew what they were really so I guess that has something to do with it. Tempeh? yes

  12. Pingback: Quin-who? | OliePants

Leave a Reply

