The Times They Are a-Changin’

I have been eating pretty well recently (both in deliciousness and health).  I have maintained a plant based/centered diet for the past week and a half (at least), and I honestly can say that I feel better!

I feel great about myself that I have stuck to this.  It’s not a diet, it’s not a trend, it’s not a phase.  It’s just a conglomeration of my choices!

If you would have told me a year ago that I would put down my pancakes, bacon and eggs and picked up on of these for breakfast, I would have laughed at you.

Then I would have really gotten a chuckle out of it, if you told me that I would slurp this and call it delicious!

Present me:  It is so so delicious!

Remember when I said eating color is key?  Take a look at my lunch/breakfast prep table:

I am very proud of myself.

I have cut out the mayo addiction, and introduced myself to hummus instead:

I never skimp on the veggies:

And I have discovered the nooch:

And, I have to say, I don’t miss the meat.

Does that mean I passed up the sample of beef with a red wine reduction from Central Market?  Nope!

But, I didn’t buy the ingredients to make at home, and left with some tempeh instead.  Simply Shaka has some fabulous meal ideas for tempeh that I’m wanting to try out!

I have to say that it took me a while to figure out that there is no magic cure for my health/weight issues.  It’s a day by day lifestyle change that comes from me wanting to and not just because it’s in a program.

And, my way is much more worth it!

Happy eating!

Side note/question:  This weekend I’ll be making some delicious Indian food, including naan, daal makhani and vegan kheer.  Anything you want me to try out?  I have space for one more dish and I am willing to take reader requests for recipes!

19 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Health, Life, Lunch, Vegan, Vegetarian

19 responses to “The Times They Are a-Changin’

  1. Love all the colorful food!
    I agree that you must take it day by day……..great attitude!

  2. “I have to say that it took me a while to figure out that there is no magic cure for my health/weight issues. It’s a day by day lifestyle change that comes from me wanting to and not just because it’s in a program.”

    That right there means everything! Awesome attitude to have. 🙂

  3. Ooo oooo you should make saag aloo… I’ve been meaning to make some and just haven’t found the time quite yet! Your eats look dang delicious to me… and I know exactly how you feel… had you asked me a year or two ago if my eats would turn into what they have, I’d have called you crazy! 🙂

  4. I love this! I am centering my diet around more plant-based foods and I’ve been craving green juice in the morning. It’s such a GREAT feeling.

  5. you go girl! i’m proud of you 🙂 love those veggies!!

  6. Love this update! I agree that there is no perfect way to go about it, but constantly keeping healthy food top of mind is key! 🙂

  7. Oh my gosh I LOVE Indian food! I would love to see what you come up with! Mmmmmm!

    Don’t you love green goop? 🙂

  8. I’m pretty sure everyone I know thinks vegetarianism is just a trend. I want to show them this post!

  9. love thos simply shaka recipes. I’m hooked on tempeh these days!
    LC

    p.s.
    YEA for GREEN bowl Monsters!

  10. Taking it day by day is the best way to ensure you can stay with something…at least it is for me!

    I vote that you come up with a gluten-free naan…is that too much of a request??

  11. I’m on the nooch kick currently, too! Been adding it to everything- pasta sauce, sandwiches, roasted veggies, pasta, mock meatloaf, dressings, salads and the list goes on. My kind of cheese ANY ole’ day, and it’s loaded with much nutrition too, which is a major plus!

  12. I am so proud of you for incorporating all those colorful veggies.

  13. Good for you for making some healthy changes! It’s fun to learn that avoiding certain foods (like mayonnaise) means there’s room for even more delicious things like hummus. It’s all about listening to your body.

    Good luck with the Indian food! I hope you’ll post about it. 🙂

  14. megandyanray

    Good for you and the changes you’re making!!

    For another mayo on the sandwich sub, I would definitely recommend avocado. I love avocado on my sandwiches! 🙂

  15. I have the theme song from “In Living Color” in my head after seeing all the color in the post-love it!

    Ok, so you need to make all of that stuff and take pics. Everyone tells me I would love Indian food but I dont like curry (the yellow kind at least, red isn’t too bad and I dont know what green tastes like) so I don’t know what I should try. I tried some dish this summer at a food festival and can’t remember what it was (no offense to your culture but it looked like runny poo lol) and I liked it.

  16. Pingback: I Lied. | OliePants

  17. Do what’s best for you! And colorful food is always great 🙂

    (And I can never turn down a Central Market free sample)

  18. Pingback: Cilantro You Glad I Didn’t Say Basil? | OliePants

  19. Pingback: Tuna Fish Temptation | OliePants

Leave a Reply

