What Weekend?

This is a gripe-y post.  Brace yourselves.

I have no time to myself.

Like none.

I work 60 hours per week on average.  When I get home from work, my time is spent preparing dinner, eating it, watching thirty minutes of TV, cleaning up the kitchen, some form of exercise on some days (walking, running, DVD exercises, yoga), taking care of my puppy (feedings, walking, playing) and then it’s time for bed, which includes preparation thereof (showering, brushing and flossing teeth, lotion-izing).

I used to look forward to the weekends.

Two full days of nothing but “me” time.  Before recently, on weekends, I used to go shopping, grocery shop, get manis/pedis, watch TV, which includes ANYTHING I wanted, including (but not limited to) The Notebook, Love Actually and Moulin Rouge!

Holy moly has this changed.

 

Namely – the parents have invaded. Here is the transcript of my conversation with my MIL (around 12:15 p.m. yesterday):

MIL:    Hi!  What are you doing?

ME:     I’m at the office working.  What are you doing?

MIL:    Oh, we just got out of church and wanted to come see you.

ME:     Sure, what time?

MIL:    We can come over to your house now.

ME:     Oh, no, I can’t right now.  I’m working at the office.  I won’t get out of here until 3 or 4.

MIL:    Oh okay.  Well, we can head over to the house and meet you there.  (They live 30 minutes away.)

ME:     No, I can’t leave right now because I have a lot of work.  I won’t be home until 3 or 4.

MIL:    That’s okay.  We have a copy of the key.  We can just let ourselves in and wait for you.

::crickets::

This is my life people.

I love both sets of parents tremendously.  But, I am getting worn thin.

So, between all this – I relish this following time alone: breakfast.  During the weekdays, Binks takes the puppy for a walk in the morning and I get a full 30 minutes to get creative.  And, have I been getting creative!

Remember the potato-luv post?!  I had extra sweet potatoes to use up.  And, did I ever!

So, please tell me – do you ever deal with this?  Do you find yourself being pulled in all different directions?  How do you cope?  Am I just being a baby?

9 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

9 responses to “What Weekend?

  1. you’re not being a baby! i know how you feel. my in-laws and most of my hubby’s family live very close to us and sometimes i feel like there’s constantly something to do! sometimes you just have to learn to say “no”. you need your me time!! it’s important for your health 🙂

  2. I totally understand. 100%.
    But my problem is myself. I need to learn how to say NO to people. I wear myself too thin………..so whine all you want! You deserve some “me” time!

  3. Um yes! It happens all the time and I feel like I can never get caught up on my life, get my new home in order, or just have time to do something fun! There is never enough time. Oh and I love my parents and in-laws dearly, but they do the same thing. Last minute Sunday dinners, etc, except that we always have to drive to them. Just when I think we have a free day to do things around the house, we get pulled away! 🙂

  4. Aw, I’m sorry you have no time to yourself. I would go crazy!

  5. I know EXACTLY how you feel! I am working 40-50 hours a week and going to school (Monday nights I’m there from 5:15 to 10:30!, and Saturdays from 9-5, not to mention all the homework all week), and people always want to hang out, etc. etc. I’ve had to get comfortable with the idea of people are going to be let down, and that’s okay. It’s okay for me to say no. It’s okay for me to ask for help (even if I have to ask 100 times, because I love the boyfriend, but damn is he dense). It’s really been a good learning experience for me in setting my priorities straight. Sometimes I think that I shouldn’t be blogging, but I’ve really embraced that as my happy time each day away from all the chaos and craziness rather than think of it as just another task. Good luck with sorting it all out girl!

  6. You are not being a baby! I know how you feel!!!! School has taken over my life and all my professors want me to do different things in the department on top of the 23 hours I’m taking. It’s exhausting. But I really really really make an effort to put aside a little time away for ME. Breakfast- ME, Running- ME, Blogging-ME….everything else in my day…. for someone else.

    Good luck girl! We’re all here for you!

  7. Good God woman—60 hours? I complain about 40 hours so maybe I should shut my big fat mouth!

    Them coming over before you got home would drive me batty. Somtimes I just need 30 mins of alone time to reorg and re-energize. How the hell do you do it??

  8. um….hello! you’re not being a baby at ALL. i don’t have in-laws, but i know how you feel. i love my weekends all to myself and i get selfish and irritated when i have those weekends week after week that there’s something scheduled all the time. hopefully things will slow down and you’ll get some you time!

  9. I completely understand you, I am going through a similar phase. I am super busy and have no time for myself. So I can assure you that you are not being a baby and thats a natural reaction.

Leave a Reply

