Where’s the Beef?

The first meal Binks and I cooked/made/prepared together was tacos!  Binks has this secret delicious taco seasoning that I just might have to pry from his grubby taco making hands!  He uses the packet (which I do not prefer), but there are some additions that make the tacos out of this freaking world.

Now, tacos are a regular for our dinners and leftovers for lunch.

Meet Binks’ tacos:

Notice anything different?

Meet mine:

Have you spotted it yet?

Let me strip this taco down to the bare essentials:

These aren’t just your ordinary tacos, my friend.  Meet The Lentil Taco!

I first made these for a Taco Night gathering where I had a couple of vegetarian friends coming for dinner.  I didn’t feel like I should just let them eat tortilla and sides so I concocted my version of a lentil taco.  At that dinner, I fell in love and I have never made beef tacos since.  So did many of the non-veg friends.  Binks, with his secret recipe, still requests these over beef. 

Yep, it’s that good.

Now, these don’t use taco seasoning but next time I make this, I’ll get the lentils ready and have Binks use his seasoning and see how that turns out.  I’ll keep you posted.

Vegan Lentil Tacos

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup onions, chopped
  • 2 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 jalapeno, chopped (you can omit this if you do not want that much heat)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 2.5 cups water
  • 1 vegetable bouillon cube
  • Juice from 1/2 lime
  • 1 cup dried brown lentils
  • 4 tsp chili powder (please note this is different from cayenne powder)
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp oregano

Directions

  • Heat a large pan over medium-high heat.  A non-stick works perfectly for this.
  • Add olive oil and heat.
  • Add onions, garlic, jalapeno.  Saute until tender and soft – about 4-5 minutes.
  • Add salt, ground black pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, chili powder, oregano and lentils.
  • Saute for 1-2 minutes until the raw smell of the spices goes away.
  • Add the bouillon cube, water, and juice from 1/2 a lime, and stir to incorporate with the mixture.
  • Bring the mixture to a boil.
  • Reduce heat, cover and let the mix simmer for about 25 minutes.  You want the lentils to be tender but not mushy.I leave the lentils alone for the full 25 minutes and prepare my sides while this is cooking.
  • Once tender, uncover and mash some of the lentils with the back of a spoon.  I leave some lentils whole because I like the texture.  Mash to your liking!
  • Cook uncovered for another 5-8 minutes.
  • Serve into taco shells, tortillas or over a salad!

Enjoy!

Happy Friday everyone!

14 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Favorites, Vegan

14 responses to “Where’s the Beef?

  1. I love making veggie meals that my meat-eater friends love! They’re always so suprised at how much they like it. 🙂

  2. i just might need to try these. i’ve been trying to think of a way to get the hubby to try lentils and he loves tacos so this might be the best way! i might have to do half meat/half lentil to ease him into it:)

  3. I want the one with cheese!

    Lentil tacos sound delicious…

  4. I will definitely need to try these! I love lentils but hardly ever eat them!

  5. These sounds wonderful…have to try them sometime soon!

  6. I have never tried lentils but I keep seeing a bunch of recipes with them so I must try soon. I really dig making tacos with things other than the traditional chicken or beef. I’ve made with morningstar Veggie crumbles, tofu, tempeh, beans and it’s always delicious!

  7. These look great. Lentils are a favorite in my house.

  8. I just so happened to buy lentils and tortillas at the grocery store… fate? I think so! 🙂

  9. This is such a good idea! I love lentils and tacos, but I’ve never had them together 🙂

  10. You’ve been awarded for being so thoughtful to your vegetarian friends. 😀
    I want to make these, and stuff them into crepes.

  11. I’ve never really tried lentils, but I do think I would love your tacos!

  12. Lentils are the best! I’ve never had them in tacos before, but I do love them in soups and stews.

  13. Those tacos look so yummy! I love lentils and am always looking for new ways to use them!!

  14. Pingback: Spanish Rice | OliePants

Leave a Reply

