Hot Potato

In the land of potatoes, I always thought the sweet potato was the cool girl at school.  The pretty sweet one that dates the athletic russet type.  All the scrawny fingerlings want to date her.  The red/yellow potato girls want to be her.

It makes sense in my head.

But, I also live in the land of potatoes obviously.

In the land of humans, I always considered sweet potatoes so sweet that it was pretty much dessert.  And yesterday, I was craving dessert.  A sweet potato bake, perhaps?  Stat!

First you roast, cool and peel:

Mash and add your favorite milk. 

Spice it up and pour into ramekins for the bake.

And then bring it on home with a sprinkle of the good stuff – turbinado!

Broil and enjoy!

Quick Vegan Sweet Potato Bake

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium sweet potatoes, roasted and peeled*
  • 1/2 cup non-dairy milk
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 4 tbsp turbinado sugar**
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • Turbinado sugar to sprinkle on top.

Directions

  • Pre-heat oven to 350F
  • Mash the roasted and peeled sweet potato to until fairly smooth.
  • Add lemon juice and mash.
  • Add milk, vanilla extract, nutmeg, cinnamon, turbinado sugar.  Mix until all ingredients are well combined.
  • Separate between ramekins.  Place on a cookie sheet.
  • Bake for 30-35 minutes until the sweet potato mash seems set and does not jiggle too much.  🙂
  • Remove from oven.
  • Sprinkle turbinado sugar on top.
  • Broil on top rack of oven for approximately 5 minutes until the sugar has caramelized.
  • Enjoy carefully as everything will be SUPER hot!

Notes:

* Some may not like all the stringy parts of the sweet potato.  You can always use a sieve to remove the stringy parts.  As for me, I don’t mind it.  So, I left it all in.  After it was baked especially, it didn’t bother me in the least.

** I used turbinado sugar.  You can use white sugar.  Make sure you pay attention to the sweetness as turbinado is less sweet than the white granulated.  Also, my sweet potato bake wasn’t SUPER sweet.  In fact, I prefer it that way.  Adjust the sugar to your liking.  As the mix is vegan, taste along the way to see if it’s sweet enough for you.

12 Comments

Filed under Desserts, Uncategorized, Vegan

12 responses to “Hot Potato

  1. This looks yummy and warm… My mom turned me on to eating sweet potatoes just like a baked potato… Now it’s one of our favs!

  2. That bake sounds dreamy. I love the low and slow method to roast cut sweet potatoes and the way it brings out all the natural sap! 🙂

  3. This looks SO good, I love sweet potatoes!! ❤

  4. Love this! Have to try it soon!

  5. Pingback: Tweets that mention Hot Potato | OliePants -- Topsy.com

  6. I loove sweet potatoes so I know I would devour this!

  7. Hahaha! You have changed the way I look at sweet potatoes!!

  8. Love this! I am in love with all things sweet potato. 🙂

  9. Pingback: What Weekend? | OliePants

  10. amy

    that looks amazing! definitely tryin it!

Leave a Reply

