The Incredible.

I love eggs.

In a sandwich, over easy, scrambled, in a cookie, in a cake, for breakfast, for dinner…I think you get the picture.

Until about a year ago, I was buying the eggs you get in a carton for $1.19-$1.50.  I would get the cheapest carton and not look back.

Binks, when he would go grocery shopping with me, would repeatedly say, you should buy the ‘better’ eggs.  The ‘better’ eggs were $4.00-$7.00 per carton.  I wasn’t having it.

He would say this repeatedly until one day…

…one day he said, “You know you should really buy the ‘better’ eggs.  It’s healthier for us.

I said in response, “Okay, I’ll buy the ‘better’ eggs for us, but will use the ‘regular’ eggs for when I bake or when it’s not the main part of a meal.

Binks said, “You should think about what the chicken had to go through to give you that egg.  Is it worth it?

I was speechless.  And, just like that – something clicked.

Mind you – I knew about the plight of most chickens in this country – whether it be chickens used for chicken or eggs.  It’s devastating and inhumane.  Yet, despite knowing, I was able to turn my back on buying ‘regular’ eggs just to save a few dollars.  I just didn’t make the connection between my food choices and it’s effect on a much bigger and growing problem.

Most chickens in the United States never see the light of day.  They are stacked one on top in an area surrounded by their own feces.  The abuse that these poor animals go through is unnecessary at the very least.

Please noteI’m not a vegetarian, and while I try to reduce my intake of meat and meat-related products, I do know that being a meat-eater does not excuse me from being responsible for other members of my planet and to make right decisions when it comes to my meals.

Now, whether it be sunny side up, scrambled, hard-boiled, or in a cookie (again, you get it), I will make sure that the eggs come from a chicken that lived like a chicken should – outside, eating grass, had room to run around, and were humanely treated.

My free-range, grass-fed, room-to-run Egg-In-The Basket

This is the first time I made an ‘egg in the basket’!  And, I have to say – it’s a keeper.

What about you?  How much importance do you place on where your food comes from?  What changes have you made for yourself with regard to food choices?

19 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

19 responses to “The Incredible.

  1. Thank you for blogging about this problem! Buying humane eggs is such a simple change that can make such a big difference. Thank you for bringing more attention to the issue.
    Your egg in the basket looks great 😀

  2. Love the egg in a basket. 😀

    Right now I do buy the cheap eggs, but after reading books like Skinny Bitch, it’s made me think twice. I’m definitely looking into buying “better” eggs, but I have to work with my food budget (I’m a broke college student, what can I say!). I’ll have to make a few sacrifices here and there, but in the end, it’s worth it.

    • I totally agree and relate. While in school, I never even thought about it because I’m just trying to keep my head above water with the other stuff. Hey, like I wrote – this only came to me a year ago.

  3. what a fun breakfast! i’ll have to give it a try sometime 🙂

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Incredible. | OliePants -- Topsy.com

  5. Eggs in a basket rule! I like to make two so I can make a mini PB&J with the little circles!! 😉

  6. What a cool idea to make eggs.I have never seen that way to make egg before.

  7. I love eggs too! One of my favorite foods EVER.

    I’m very big on sustainability, and knowing where my food comes from is very important to me. I take this more seriously with animal products, like eggs and butter and yogurt (I’m lactose-intolerant, so this is mostly what I stick to). We get our eggs from my mom’s friend, who owns a free range chicken farm! I swear they taste better than any other eggs in the world.

  8. Love eggs in a hole! I tried it for the first time this last yr and feel compelled to make it when I have bread on hand (not often)

    I care about where my food comes from however I will care more when I make more money or when my student loans go away. It’s just not feasible for me to pay over $4 for a carton of eggs right now. More power to you+ Binks though!

  9. I’m obviously completely on the same page as you!! Shaun and I keep discussing this over and over. Something needs to change! And yes, we buy the expensive eggs, too.

  10. Yum! I actually don’t eat that many eggs… dont know why 🙂 You have inspired me to increase the uptake!

  11. I love eggs too, I allways make it a point to buy organic meat and eggs. If I think its getting very expensive then I go without them for a while but I never buy the cheaper stuff. I don’t think any one who has seen the movie Food Inc. would ever buy those cheap eggs or meat.

  12. Eggs are da bomb – for real. Love those things!
    I make knowing where my eggs and chicken came from a huge priority. This is something VERY important in our house.

  13. I enjoy this post – I too spend the extra money to buy the better eggs. The local farm I buy them from always has copies of hand-written notes in the carton so you can read about what’s going on at the farm. It’s cute and the eggs are delicious!

Leave a Reply

