First Day – New House – Happy Me!

To be honest, every moment from the day of acceptance to the day of closing to the day of packing to moving in the snow (Texas snow), I was nervous – I think sometimes more nervous than happy.  I had so many questions/doubts going through my mind.  Namely, my doubts involved whether I could take care of a house and whether I was ‘grown-up’ enough to take care of potential serious problems with a house (leaks, bugs (yes, bugs are serious), repairs, etc.)

To date (well, yester-date), I have been fortunate to live in either my parents’ house or an apartment, which allowed me to be free of any maintenance worries!  Now, the responsibility fell on me (and Binks), and I have to say it was daunting.

Then, came my first night in the house.  I am in love.  It’s beautiful and I’m happy.  I cannot believe that I’m officially a home-owner and it means more than I thought it would.

So, this morning I woke up thinking about the perfect breakfast to make to break-in my new kitchen.  What else but Old Faithful:

Oatmeal (for 2):

  • 3/4 cup rolled oats
  • 3 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp ground flax
  • 2 tbsp wheat germ
  • 1 tbsp turbinado sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Toppings:

  • Coconut, shredded, unsweetened
  • Raspberry preserves
  • Almonds, raw

A perfect meal in my perfect house.

🙂

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “First Day – New House – Happy Me!

  1. Awwwww……this is great. Congratulations! Can’t wait to see pics of the new digs. 🙂

  2. Congratulations!!! I’m so happy you can finally breathe deep and relax in YOUR house! 🙂

  3. Wow, you all moved in quick! I am excited for you 🙂 The whole aspect of having to fix my own stuff would freak me out but Binks can be your own personal Bob Villa right?!

    When are we going to see pic sof the inside?

    • I think you need to meet Binks before you make that assessment! LOL.

      I will post soon! It still looks like a train wreck so I’m waiting for things to be 90% in order! 🙂

  4. Congratulations! 😀 😀 😀

  5. Yay congrats! I love home ownership. My husband and I rented an apt for 2 years before buying one. We loved renting and owning can certainly be scary when things go awry, but it’s like anything else in life – you just do it and get through it! 🙂 The fun outweighs the scary.

  6. Pictures?! I can’t wait to see pictures of your new crib! Enjoy getting settled in and unpacking! Congratulations!

  7. That is so exciting!!! Congrats on the new house! And now comes the fun part….decorating!!

  8. Pingback: Indulge Me | OliePants

Leave a Reply

