Just Like That

I got news.  Big news.

I’m not pregnant.

I’m somewhere between ecstatic and near vomiting.

Again, I’m not pregnant.

Let me tell you a couple of stories.  They’re good – I promise!

Things happen for a reason.  I am not one to believe it, but everything that has occurred in my life has been screaming otherwise.

Story 1:   When Binks and I started our own firm, we started office sharing in a conference room with another business.  It was small and tight (“tight” in a can’t fit way, not in a cool way – I’m old).  We threw out the option of finding our own space but never found the time to look or the right fit.

One day for lunch, we randomly went out to eat at Jason’s Deli.  I remember I had to beg to go because Binks was set on eating the sandwich we brought for lunch.  He finally gave up and agreed to go.  After eating and as we were walking out, we saw a beautiful office tower, and randomly decided to go walk inside.

Lo and behold, a whole floor was being renovated and spaces were plenty.  That was how we found our office.  Just like that.

Story 2:  Binks and I live in an apartment.  With starting a business, funds were tight and we wanted something that didn’t come with a 30-year mortgage commitment.

Time went by.  We were in a position to buy.

We made an offer on a house.  We didn’t get it.  We made an offer on a second house.  We didn’t get it.  I was losing hope because in between the first and second, there were other houses that just got away from us.  People are crazy for real estate!

We found the third house.  We made an offer.  Someone made a higher offer.  We didn’t get it.  That was November 20th.  We were set to go to India on December 1st.  I was truly disappointed.  I loved this house and I couldn’t get it out of my head.  I decided to forget about the house search altogether, and have a good time on vacation.

So, December 1st came, and as you may remember, Binks lost his Visa.  We were stuck in Houston for 2 daysI was mad. On December 1st, we traveled to Houston.  On December 2nd, we waited in line at the Visa office – only to be informed that it would take another day.  I was livid.  I cried.  I yelled. It was not pretty.

We left and walked back to the hotel disappointed.  I checked e-mail.  The first and only e-mail was from the real estate agent for House 3, and I had the expectation that she was attempting to be our buyers agent.  The email went a little something like this:

The previous couple could not get the loan approved.  My sellers have requested to extend an offer to you.

Just like that.  We got a house.

I’m happy.  I’m nervous.  And, I’m pretty sure I’m broke – just like that!

🙂

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “Just Like That

  1. wow…that’s awesome!!! congrats 🙂

  2. Yes! That’s awesome, congratulations!

  3. Congratulations!! Yet another testament that everything works out the way it is supposed to!! 🙂

  4. So excited for you! I also believe that everything happens for a reason. 🙂

  5. Ahhhhhhhhhhh!!! Great story, and congratulations!!!! What a great way to end your year! 🙂

  6. Oh my goodness! That’s super exciting! Congratulations! 😀

  7. Congrats! I’m a recently new home owner and it can be scary but it is really so wonderful! Good luck!

  8. Katherine: Unemployed

    congrats!!!! have a great time decorating! that is so exciting!

  9. Hey lady! Just gave you the Stylish Blogger Award over on my site because I think you rock! Come by and check it out – hope you’ll share 7 things with us all 🙂

  10. Congratulations! That is such exciting news and I am so happy for you.

  11. This sounds like my life!!! For those who notice…everything does happen for a reason! I moved from Houston to Austin just a few years ago – good luck with the new house! Houston is a great town! (Found ur blog thru AvidAppetite – really enjoyed reading it!)

  12. Pingback: First Day – New House – Happy Me! | OliePants

  13. Pingback: The Milk Ladies. | OliePants

Leave a Reply

