Falafel Tested. Olie Approved.

I was craving falafel.

Falafel is usually fried.

I eat fried things.

I don’t like to fry things.

I don’t like to fry things in my house.

I don’t like things fried when I’m in a house.

There’s a lingering weird smell.

Do you know what I mean?

No?

That’s okay.

Turns out, falafel need not be fried.

Falafel can be baked, did ya know?

Tis just as delicious baked!

Did ya know?

I will never be without falafel again.  And a falafel needs a tahini sauce.  Did I mention its vegan?

Falafel Recipe

1 (15 oz) can chickpeas, drained & rinsed
1/2 cup parsley
1/2 of a medium onion
2 cloves garlic
1/2 jalapeno, for heat (optional)
1 flax egg (1 tbsp ground flax-seed mixed with 3 tablespoon water) (or you can use an egg)
1 tsp ground coriander
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 cup wheat germ

-  Preheat oven to 400F.  Grease a cookie sheet.  I like to use foil paper and spray Pam on the foil paper so it doesn’t mess up my baking sheet (or parchment should be fine.)

-  In a food process, add parsley, onion, garlic and jalapeno (optional).  Process until it becomes smooth and all veggies are ground up nicely together.  Then, add chickpeas and process until it becomes coarsely ground.  You do not want to process too long because the mixture will be too thin and it won’t hold together.  After its mixed, pour mixture into a bowl.

-  In a separate bowl, prepare the flax egg and add cumin, coriander, salt and black pepper.  Mix and pour into the chickpea mix.

-  Combine everything until its thoroughly incorporated.  Add olive oil and wheat germ until you get a consistency where everything binds together.  The flax egg is important for this.

-  Make into patties (you should get about 9 patties) 2” in diameter.

-  Place patties on the greased cookie sheet.  Spray the patties themselves with cooking spray or you can drizzle a little bit of olive oil on them.

-  Place in oven and bake for 10 minutes.

-  Turn over each patty and bake for another 10 minutes.

-  Serve with rice, in a pita, by itself, really however you like!  Enjoy yourself.

:)

18 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Uncategorized, Vegan

18 responses to “Falafel Tested. Olie Approved.

  1. Very nice! I love falafel and actually just picked up some falafel balls at Costco the other day… but I bet yours taste twice as nice!

  2. Those look delicious! I tried to make these once and saute them in a pan and they did not turn out well…might have to try this recipe!

  3. I’ve had falafel once or twice but never knew quite what was in it besides the chickpeas. Now I know, and now I believe I could make these at home — baked, not fried of course.

  4. The way you wrote this kinda reminded me of something by Dr. Seuss. Anywho, I thought it was cute.

    Ok, so falafel looks totally do-able. I’ve only tried it a few times but never made it and one of my things in 2011 is going to be cutting down on meat. This looks perfect!!

  5. Pingback: Tweets that mention My falafel post is up! -- Topsy.com

  6. Ahhhhh……these look fantastic!!!!!! I’ve yet to had the “best falafel” so I’m all in with this recipe! :)
    Happy New Year!

  7. 1. Falafels are one of my favorite things to eat….ever.
    2. This recipe looks so great.
    3. I plan on trying this asap!! Thanks for sharing!!

  8. Such a great idea to bake it! I’ve tried a few different recipes for falafel but not one like this! Thanks for sharing!

  9. I usually pan-sear them, but I don’t know why I’ve never thought about just baking them! What a good idea! And, I TOTALLY know what you mean about the fried smell! I’ve worked in enough restaurants to know this is a real phenomenon! ; )

  10. Pingback: Welcome 2011! | OliePants

  11. Pingback: Weekend reunion « Simply Shaka

  12. I’ve never tried baking falafal, but I bookmarked this recipe and I’ll give it a whirl next time I make it. I love mine with tzatziki sauce…never tried it with tahini.. Bet it’s great though! :)

  13. Pingback: I Roll, You Roll | OliePants

  14. Pingback: Layered Mediterranean Dip | OliePants

  15. Pingback: Baba Ghanoush (Eggplant Dip) | OliePants

Leave a Reply

