Christmas 2010: My Dessert Smorgasbord

Hello Post-Christmas to all!

hope each of you had a fabulous Christmas.  I know I did. This year my mom did it up right.  And let’s just say, I overdid it with the desserts.  If you follow me on Twitter, you would have read that I really almost had a panic attack at the amount I was baking.  But, in the end, it made for a great spread and I left with no left-overs!  Always a great sign.

All in all – I made 7 desserts (I cut it down from eight):  cranberry and walnut shortbread, thumbprint cookies, homemade Pocky sticks, brownies, Mexican wedding cookies (aka Russian tea cakes), mini cheesecakes, and a delicious rum cake to boot!

The best rum cake I have ever tasted – and I promise you I’m critical with my cooking!

These are my all-time favorite go-to brownies.

I cannot believe that it took me this long to make these Mexican wedding cookies.  This will not be my last time – let me tell ya!

Yes, I did use Halloween cupcake liners, but would you deny these treats for that reason?!  I think not!

I used blackberry jam for these thumbprint cookies.  My favorite!

And my MIL did it up right by bringing the classic Jalebi.

So, basically I caused a diabetic’s nightmare! 🙂

Not to fret, there was other food at dinner.  First, some appeteasers with Indian puffs – puff pastry filled with ground beef:

and my mom’s infamous samosas:

The blurry picture doesn’t do it justice.

And the main course had fried rice, beef/chicken kabobs, raita, salad, green beans, and even a pasta casserole my dad whipped up last-minute that was a hit!

In addition to this fabulous food, the night itself was fantastic.  I have a great family and I was truly blessed that Christmas 2010 included ALL of them!

In addition to my family, I am extremely thankful for you, my blog readers.  I have only been doing this a short time, but the people I have ‘virtually met’ have been absolutely short of wonderful.  I love the positive energy that everyone exudes and I have to say that it has changed my life.  So, thank you from the bottom of my happy holiday heart!

25 Comments

Filed under Cake, Cookies, Desserts, Dinner, Indian

25 responses to “Christmas 2010: My Dessert Smorgasbord

  1. Jen

    Oh yummm! Everything looks so dang delicious!!!!

    Jen

  2. Belated Merry Christmas! Looks like you had a lovely, food-filled celebration. And yeah, I definitely will not say no to mini-cupcakes because of the cupcake liners!

  3. Wow…looks and sounds like a fabulous time! We only had two desserts and thankfully I wasn’t in charge but I made a majority of dinner so I did my part 🙂

    So happy I found your blog….here’s to aa super ’11!

    • Yes, you most certainly did do your part. The main stuff is the hard part to me.

      And, I’m very happy I found your blog as well! You always put a smile on my face when I read your posts and comments!

  4. You made Pocky sticks!? Too cool! And um, those samosas look AMAZING!

    • That I did! They were super easy too! Just found some breadsticks and dipped them in melted chocolate. Then, sprinkled some almonds on top and let them set until the party! Delicious! They are pictured on my Twitter!

  5. Just tell me where I have to go, what I have to pay, whatever I have to do, to get the recipes for your mom’s samosas and those appeteasers! (Love that term, I plan to steal it.) While I’m at it, I’ll take that recipe for the rum cake, too….

  6. What a beautiful meal for such a wonderful celebration; your pictures are amazing!

  7. I made Mexican Wedding cookies once for an enchilada party once and I loved them!!!! Looks like you had some good eats!

  8. Pingback: Tweets that mention New post: -- Topsy.com

  9. My teeth are hurting from just looking at the Jalebi! Everything looks really delicious though, and puff pastry is one of the few things that I think are worth the gluten stomachache!!

  10. Everything looks delicious!!! Mexican wedding cake cookies are the best!!

    I am definitely trying the Indian puffs!!!!

  11. Yum, I want some of those samosas! Any chance your mom would part with the recipe? 😉

  12. I am so impressed with your baking skills! Everything looks incredible! I’d never heard of or seen Jalebi, but those also look delicious. I want to come to your Christmas next year! 🙂

  13. Pingback: Welcome 2011! | OliePants

  14. omg!!! Just checked out your blog and realized that you are from Texas and you are a bake aholic!! Hope you had a great holiday!!

    • Hey there! I am from Texas – and I just saw you are too!! HELLO! And I have to agree – my mom would choose a buffet to sneak home food – usually for the dog but I saw her slip in a roll once!

  15. Pingback: Stylish Blog Awards! | OliePants

  16. Pingback: ABC’s of ME! | OliePants

  17. Pingback: Baby Shower Goods | OliePants

  18. Pingback: Mexican Wedding Cookies | OliePants

  19. Pingback: Jalebi | OliePants

Leave a Reply

