India Recap Part I – Lay of the Land

I titled this India Recap Part I only because I know that there will be more than one post about my trip to India – whether it be 2 or 87 is beyond me.  All I know is that I took close to 2,000 pictures (and, I happened to get lazy on the last couple of days too).  I’m sure there has to be at least two posts out of those pics!

Overall, my trip to India with Binks was enlightening at the very least in many ways.

First, let me start out by saying the trip started out only like ours would.  Remember when I said it was a mad rush to the finish?  It was that and more.  Binks was working until 10 a.m. and we had to be at the airport at noon.  On the way home at 10:15 a.m., Binks calls to ask, “Hey, do we need a Visa to go to India?”  I almost lost it!  If my parents weren’t there, he would have suffered the sh1t storm of the century!  So, instead of leaving on December 1, 2010, we actually left on December 3, 2010 and camped out in Houston at the Indian Embassy.  Not the best start.

We stopped first in Dubai and saw the tallest building in the world – Burj Khalifa.  There are no words – it is a massive thing this building.

My picture does not do it justice.  I thought Texas had the “Bigger the Better” slogan – then came Dubai.  Everything is done to the extreme – so much so that a lot of office buildings don’t have electricity because they can’t fill it up with people.

We spent about 5 hours in Dubai with family and then were off to Kerala – a hop skip and 3.5 hours away!

Upon arriving and meeting my FABULOUS grandfather, it was lunch time.  We had rice, fried fish, green beans thoran and lemon pickle.  Delicious!

After lunch, it was time for a tour of the property.

Meet the backyard:

As a kid (did I mention I used to live at this house as a kid?!), I ran around this area without any worry or care in the world, and there were tons of fruit and nut trees that I would just pick from and eat out of – I sound like a monkey.  But if you were to ask me to step foot it in it today, I would laugh in your face and run the other direction.  Thank goodness for ‘paved’ areas.

This pathway runs up to this – the infamous river behind the house.  As a kid, everyone in the family (separately by gender) would take baths in this river.

Now, if you were to ask me to take one step down, I again would laugh and scream running away.  (To be fair, when I was a kid, the water was much cleaner – it’s funny how perception works.)

Then, I introduced Binks to the banana trees.  I explained how this:

into this:

I still don’t think he gets it.  These city boys.

Now meet the water supply.

I don’t know why I had to but I had to plead with the people of the house to boil the water for me and Binks.  I don’t care how long it has worked for them, but I’m not taking any chances on this well water.  During our last trip, my dumb sister thought the water tasted fine and left with a severe case of you know

Case and point.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “India Recap Part I – Lay of the Land

  1. Woo hoo! I love that you took so many pics (I too get lazy at the end of a trip) and can’t wait to read more. I would have gone ape s*** on him about the Visa question-god bless you for not losing your cool.

    I am jealous you got to go to Dubai, it’s on my must visit list and that building is sick!! Very cool also about the banana tree 🙂

  2. Never drink the water! Eeek!

    India is definitely on my list of places to visit, it looks like you had a great time! Btw I would love a banana tree in my backyard…

  3. I would loove to visit india!!! Fresh bananas are the best!!!!

  4. Hi Susan, thank you for dropping by my blog. I am now getting hooked on yours! Definitely do recaps of your trip in parts. It’ll give you time to sort out the best pics and your favorite parts (although I know how hard it is to choose!) I love seeing those green, rural pics of India – I grew up in the Philippines and am familiar with rural myself 😉 Looking forward to reading more!

  5. You are definitely an adventurous eater because when I go to India I eat bananas and toast for the most part, and drink bottled water only. I learned the hard way that most people don’t boil the water enough and those stubborn Indian bacteria survive!

    I too am looking forward to more of your recap!

  6. Jen

    Wow that building is ginormous! I can’t wait to read more about your trip, I love the banana tree, very cool!!!

    Jen

  7. Thanks for your visit to my blog and your comment! My friend just went to India (I can’t recall where though) and said it was an amazing experience. It is so cool that you lived among those trees as a little kid! Your travels are awesome!

  8. Pingback: Welcome 2011! | OliePants

  9. Pingback: Just Like That | OliePants

Leave a Reply

