Oh. Em. Gee.

Dear goodness and gravy…

What a couple of days…

What happened?

The Good – I got a camera!   I have been taking pictures with my iPhone this entire time!

The Bad – I need to do a lot of learnin’.

The Ugly – Oh dear – do you have time for this?  Indulge me – if you will.

The camera was delivered to my office last Thursday (11/18/2010).  I opened it quickly out of excitement, and I left it on my desk because I was meeting with a client.

I left it in the office overnight. (Foreshadowing for BIG MISTAKE!)

Next morning, I come in and it’s gone. I saw some packaging paper sitting next to my trash and I knew – I just knewthe cleaning staff threw it away thinking it was trash.

I ran to the building recycling bin and fished through loads of bags of paper and plastic – in my good suit, nonetheless.  Nothing.

Then I approached the dumpster – the stink smelly dumpster – and I just stared at it.  Do I dare? The thing was packed to the max.  Thinking I have a client coming in the next 30 minutes, who probably won’t want their attorney smelling like yesterday’s lunch leftovers, I gave up.  Even I couldn’t make the dive.

I told the building manager, and she said she would do her best to see what happened.  Needless to say I was irritated/disappointed/sad.

Then the next day…I got a call.

The manager of the cleaning company said that he asked around (I’m sure they were motivated considering they would have to replace the sucker if they didn’t find it), who said his staff remembered the box and brought it to him – camera and accessories in tow!

A little fishy if you ask me but hey – I got my camera back.  And, let me tell you!  It’s divine! I don’t know what most of the buttons mean but, golly – I’m sure going to learn!

I, of course, practiced right away – on one of my very favorite items!

Since all was right with the world, and because I needed something good in my day, I made this:

What’s inside you ask?  Let’s take a closer look:

What you see here is a mix of the following:

-  drained garbanzo beans

-  carrot ribbons

-  sliced onions

-  romaine

-  chopped tomatoes

-  a little bit of ground black pepper

Then,  a dressing, which matched this combo perfectly!

Just a simple mix of spicy mustard, red wine vinegar, cumin, garlic powder, salt, and olive oil.

(I love making my own dressings!)

This, and  then the Sopranos – makes you think – what camera incident?

Fugetaboutit!

15 Comments

Filed under Dinner

15 responses to “Oh. Em. Gee.

  1. oh my gosh! I’m so glad you got the camera back! That would have been a tragedy! I agree- homemade dressings are way better than store bought. Happy weekend!

  2. Sounds super weird to me too! Oh well, at least the camera has safely made it back to you! I have the Canon S90 and I love it!

  3. Oh man! I’m so glad you got it back…I lost mine (in a stranger’s car- SHHH!) after a VERY crazy fourth of July night…thankfully we exchanged phone numbers that evening and he was honest enough to text me that I’d left it! SCARY moment! What kind of camera was it?

  4. I would have been SO upset! I’m glad you got the camera back…without having to dumpster dive.

    And now the hard part starts. I hate learning how to use new things!

  5. Oh man, that could have been bad. I’m glad they gave the camera back, though. I wouldn’t have been surprised if someone had been like, “Hey! Free new camera. Alright!”

    I’ve been wanting a new camera myself. Someday…

    That salad looks delicious!

  6. that is crazy that you got it returned, but GOOD!! yah fishy…

  7. Kat

    Thank goodness you got your camera back, lady!

    I know that when I got my DROID X, I was absolutely stunned by the macro settings and everything that was going on there. Mind-blowing. Good luck learning all of the new functions!

  8. Yay for new cameras and getting it back! Boo for almost having to go dumpster diving for it—I kept reading in suspense to see what happened! I love your dressing idea—so simple but I am sure packs a lot of punch!

  9. I am so gonna freak out if that happened to me…good thing you got your camera back..

  10. Jen

    NICE camera!!!! I’m glad you got it back!!! Have fun learning how to use it :)

    jen

  11. Wow, what a scare that would be! It does sound pretty fishy, but I’m glad you got it back. Have fun learning how to use it!

  12. WOW! So glad you didn’t have to dumpster dive for your camera! I take all of my pictures with my iPhone too! It works but I look forward to a nice camera one day…maybe after student loans are payed off! ;)

  13. That dressing sounds super delish!! :D

Leave a Reply

