What ya’ll know about them Texas boys?

Well…the Rangers didn’t win the game yesterday…but there’s always TODAY!

After my run yesterday (Day 2, Week 1 of C25K!), I came home to my fantastic Binks making his game-time meal – chips and salsa.

One thing that Binks love more than anything (well next to pizza and Chipotle) is salsa!  He has spent the last 5 years looking for the perfect salsa.  He has tried every (and I really do believe it) salsa he can get his hands on!  We sample everything at Central Market, Whole Foods, etc. – you name it – we have tried it!

We thought he found the one with Clint’s (here).  It’s fabulous!  I love it and he did too.  Until he started noticing that the HOT (the only version we have tried) was not tasting the same and didn’t have the bite as previous jars (he did experiments – believe you me).

So, he started to look again.

Frustrated with his lack of finding something that suited his needs (i.e., spicy as hell, not ‘vinegar-y’, not too tomato-y), I said – “go make your own then!”  I’m so nice, aren’t I? 🙂 

So, he did.

For the past year, Binks has been making his own salsa and now refuses to buy anything else.  I would like to tell you that it tastes the same every single time – but it doesn’t.  But, there are some things that are guaranteed:

1.  It’s not too tomato-y.

2.  There is no vinegar in the recipe.

3.  It will light your ass on fire!

4.  It is one of the best salsas I have ever had – ever!

Well, as I was saying – he made it again yesterday.  And, I have to say – DELICIOUSSpicy and delicious.

Do I know his recipe?  No.  Does he?  Sometimes. 🙂  The proportions vary each time but it has the same taste.

Here’s how it starts!  (It’s like a garden threw up on my counter.)

Where do I begin?  Clockwise from left: cilantro, tomato, habanero (it’s Texas – go big or go home!), lime, jalapeno, serrano, garlic, onions.

Then, he processes in batches:

Plop goes the first batch! (Probably not the best way to describe this!)

Then he starts on the second batch…

After the batches are done, he adds the lime juice.  You most certainly cannot have salsa without lime!

And then he squeezes!

…and FINALLY!

Did I make an effort to make the salsa look nice (i.e. clean up the edges, stir things more)?  NO

Should I have?  Well…yes…I’m sorry!

You have to take my word when I say that this bowl is the size of the base of my blender!

What am I going to do with all this salsa?  Any advice?

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “What ya’ll know about them Texas boys?

  1. my husband is another big time salsa fan..but he’s a lazy one…instead of making it at home..he prefers to buy it

  2. Oh there is so muc u can do the salsa with and despite the veggie garden affect, it still looks its delish!

  3. Mmm – this looks great!! I use salsa for a lot of different things – black bean burritos, fish tacos, jambalaya, as a topping for eggs or baked potatoes… The sky’s the limit! (And you can always freeze it, too.)

  4. This looks fantastic! I love salsa too, but not with vinegar. I’d be making enchiladas, scrambled eggs with salsa and just eating a vat with some chips. Mmmm. But I’d be watching hockey, not baseball.
    🙂

  5. Pingback: Spanish Rice | OliePants

  6. Pingback: Guacamole | OliePants

Leave a Reply

