Give me some chocolate or I’ll cut you!

In the beginning I hated Glee – but something happened with the Britney episode that got me hooked!  Now, while I may not admit so readily that I love it, I do find myself looking forward to it every Tuesday!

Brittany and Sue make me LOL.

Between getting home at 6:15 p.m. and the show, I had time to make a delicious and healthy meal!

In the beginning, I didn’t know kale. Now, I LOVE LOVE LOVE kale.  I began by using it in smoothies and have moved onto sides.

I love the taste – not too bitter (like spinach can be sometimes) and offers a crunch even after cooked!

This combo for some reason worked fabulously.

Chicken:

–  1 chicken breast

–  1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

–  salt and pepper, to taste

–  1/8 tsp garlic powder

–  1/8 tsp onion powder

–  Saute in pan with some olive oil until cooked through and through.

–  Remove the chicken from pan and set aside – keep warm.

Warm Chickpea Kale Salad

–  1 can (14 oz) chickpeas

–  5 pieces of kale, chopped (use more or less – I wanted to save some for this morning’s smoothie!)

–  salt and pepper, to taste

–  1 tbsp parsley, chopped

–  1/2 of lemon’s juice

–  1/4 cup onion

–  2 cloves garlic

–  1 tbsp olive oil

–  Using the chicken pan, heat olive oil and saute onion and garlic on medium heat.

–  Scrape up any chicken goodness left on the pan and incorporate with the onion and garlic.

–  Saute for approx 3 minutes – until onion has softened and browned slightly.

–  Add chickpeas and stir for 1-2 minutes.

–  Add kale and juice from lemon, stir, and cover for 7  minutes, until kale has wilted.

–  Uncover and add parsley.

–  Stir for another 4 minutes to incorporate everything.

–  Serve with chicken!

8 Comments

Filed under Dinner

8 responses to “Give me some chocolate or I’ll cut you!

  1. This looks delicious! I love chickpeas, so I’ll definitely have to try that salad. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Why thank ya for commenting! 🙂

  3. I absolutely love GLEE 🙂 Im a Gleek….
    The meal looks hearty

  4. This looks mighty tasty and I just picked up a bunch of kale today with no recipe in mind. Hmm.

  5. kim

    this looks so tasty and healthy too!!

  6. Kale makes my heart happy! Especially kale chips!

Leave a Reply

