Ya Herrdd!!!

I have officially started the C25K program!!!!!  Yay!

I have to admit that I attempted this once before.  My friends and I signed up for a 5K in Dallas (Go Rangers!  WOOP WOOP!) and used that as a motivation to keep up with the C25K.  I always read articles that say to run with a partner or a friend.  Well, as much as I love my friends – these two were not the most motivated to do the 5K! I think they were just in different places in their life and they were more than content to walk it.  We would arrange several meetings during the week to run per the program, and we would always fail and just eat dinner instead.  It was a bad bad habit!

Well, I went to that 5K and ran for about 3 minutes (TOTAL – for shame!) and walked the rest of the way.  I was pretty unhappy with myself – I didn’t put in any effort to get any of the results I wanted.

Then came Monday, October 25, 2010. I had a sloppy weekend with too much eating and I realized that I’m just heading down the same path as always – being really strict and then loosening up too much.  So, I decided to run.  But, not without support!!!

First, I downloaded this App. And let me tell you – TOTALLY WORTH IT!!!  I ran once before (a month ago) and I had my iPhone in my shirt (yes, I’m ghetto and I stuff it in my shirt – I feel dirty just admitting that!  Sorry!), a stop watch, and a dog to run with.  It all got a little too much.  I was constantly fidgeting and it all got a bit hectic.  Then came the APP!!

This App tells you when to run and walk in the middle while you listen to your music – think airplane announcements in the middle of your in-flight movie!  I loved it!! Took any and all guess-work out of my run and kept me from frantically looking at the clock for the end!

Second, I got a new running partner! The best kind (well, for me).  He’s a Doberman/Boxer mix and he loves to run!  He keeps my pace (poor thing probably wants to run 10x faster) and he runs at my side.  He is always available, always excited about running and never will quit on me! 🙂

Third, I put together a bad a$$ mamma jamma playlist of the following:

1.  Jamie Foxx – Blame It

2.  Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Heads Will Roll  (Love this woman!)

3.  Twista (feat. Pitbull) – Hit The Floor

4.  M.I.A. – Paper Planes (I ❤ M.I.A.!!)

5.  Bee Gees – Staying Alive

6.  Peaches – Talk to Me (LOVES!)

7.  Timbaland – The Way I Are

8.  Matisyahu – One Day

9.  Coldplay – Fix You

Let me tell you – the run yesterday was nothing short of INVIGORATING!  I have been stressed and anxious about things lately and that run was just what I needed to decompress.

At the end, I was so proud of myself.  Every part of me wanted to quit early but I thought – take it a minute at a time (literally)!

And, I did – and I DID IT!!

🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Ya Herrdd!!!

  1. Coldplay’s Fix You is one of my favorite songs ever! I can’t stop listening to it and I don’t think I’ll ever get sick of it.

  2. Pingback: The Best Revenge… « OliePants

Leave a Reply

