Banoffee Pie

Image

My career, in my opinion, has taken a nose dive since the baby was born.  Going from a 100 hr/week attorney to a part-time attorney has been a major hit on my career self-esteem.  So, when one of my cases recently was scheduled for back to back depositions and a settlement conference, it was my time to get back on the work horse.  And, I loved it.

After very successful depositions, I marched into the settlement conference with dare I say — a swagger.  My client and I sat in one room while the opposing party was in another and the attorneys were to walk back and forth with settlement offers.  Walking back to my client’s room, I happily thought that I put aside the mom clothes and was back to my old self.  I took one step inside my client’s waiting room when she said, “I think you sat in chocolate.”  Mortified, I stood there for a minute attempting to salvage this most unprofessional situation.  But, she was right.  Somewhere between feeding my kid a chocolate chip granola bar and driving, I sat in it.  Oh, and my suit was tan/light brown.  It paired well with my dark chocolate chip stain.

IMG_3323

Luckily, my client quickly said, “Oh, I figured your son did that,” and went on about her life as a mom.  And, there I was – in my professional element, exchanging mom advice with my client.  The settlement went well and on the drive home, I accepted the duality that has become my life, where the mom part is the base and everything else is seemingly built around that.  When I got home, I celebrated by making a pie.  No chocolate.

Banoffee Pie

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups graham crackers, finely crushed into crumbs
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 (14 oz) cans dulce de leche 
  • 4 large bananas, sliced
  • 2 heavy whipping cream, cold
  • 3 tbsp confectioner’s (powdered sugar)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. In a 9-inch pie plate, mix together the graham crackers and butter, and evenly press into the pie plate for the crust.  Bake for 5 minutes to set the crust.  Set aside to cool.
  3. Once the crust is cooled, spread the dulce de leche from one can over the crust.  Layer with bananas.  Finish with the last can of dulce de leche.
  4. Chill in a refrigerator.
  5. Make the whipped cream:  With a stand or handheld mixer, whip the heavy cream, sugar and vanilla until stiff.  Spread evenly over the cake.  Serve immediately or put back in the fridge to chill.
4 Comments

Filed under Desserts, Pie

4 responses to “Banoffee Pie

  1. Aw that’s awesome that it worked out so well!!! You go super momma!

    And you go on making fabulous pies like this!

  2. ahu

    Love the story and the pie looks delicious :)

  3. carol mannifield

    the toffee for my pie is too watery,can i salvage it,

    • I want to make sure I understand. Are you saying the dulce de leche is too runny? If so, how did you cook it? In the can? Scratch? Or in the oven on a glass plate? If that’s the part that’s too runny, maybe it needed more time in the oven. Once I removed my can from the water, some of it was thick and runny and some was like soft soft taffy. So when mixed together, it held its shape.

      With that said, the whole pie is like a thicker pudding pie so there is some level of not keeping shape that happens.

      And now how to salvage, I’m positive it would be perfect over ice cream, in coffee, over yogurt, or in a milk shake!

      Thanks for trying it!

Leave a Reply

