Basil Pesto

First impressions are a funny thing. I remember, as a freshman in high school, hearing one of the most beautiful girls in the school proclaim that she bases all her friendships and any potential relationships on first impressions. “I don’t care if it’s unfair. If I don’t like you from first talking to you, I’m never going to talk to you again.” I still remember these words. While harsh, I actually wondered whether she had a point. All our lives we are judged on first impressions, including dates and interviews. Interactions that decide the most important parts of our lives are truly governed by the first impressions. So, was there any truth to what she said?

After 30 years of life experience, I call B.S. on her theory.

According to Binks, if he had judged me based on his first impression, he would not have talked to me ever again. I obviously thought differently of our first interaction. I was so shy and nervous that when he called me, I sat on the phone quietly for most of the conversation. Me being quiet is not the normal if you have ever met me. But, I did. And if it was anyone else, he wouldn’t have called again. But, because Binks would be the last person to judge a person from a first impression, he called again. And, six years and a baby later, the rest is history.

Less importantly, I hated pesto the first time I tried it. That’s what happens when you try to make pesto out of a powder mix from a “pasta creation” box. Disgusting. Extremely pungent (not in a good way), bitter and salty. After having some basil left over from making pizza sauce, I decided to give it a second try.

Controlling the levels of the different ingredients, I was able to create a product that was creamy yet bold, without any harsh flavors to distract from the bright basil. Since making it, I have been using it on everything I can find. Ranging from pesto pasta with vegetables and roasted pesto potatoes, I’m in love with this pesto.

Basil Pesto

adapted from Simply Recipes

Ingredients:

  • 4 medium cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/3 cup pine nuts (or walnuts), roasted and coarsely chopped
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 2 cups basil leaves, packed tight
  • 3/4 cup Parmesan cheese, grated
  • pinch of black ground pepper
  • pinch of salt, more as required

Directions:

  1. In a food processor, add minced garlic and pulse about 2-3 times to break down the garlic further.
  2. Add pine nuts (or walnuts) and process until finely ground.
  3. In a thin stream, slowly incorporate half of the olive oil while the food processor is running.
  4. Add basil and puree until smooth.
  5. Slowly pour in the remaining olive oil until incorporated.
  6. Add the cheese, pepper, and salt and process until fully blended.
  7. Test for salt and add if required.

 

9 Comments

Filed under Pasta, Sauces, Uncategorized

9 responses to “Basil Pesto

  1. i adore pesto…so glad you gave it another chance :) yours looks sooooo delicious, i’m now craving some!

  2. Pesto from a powder? No way! Obviously this real pesto made from, you know, leaves and garlic and olive oil is a much better plan. :)

  3. cookingactress

    Mmmm this pesto looks amazing. And I agree about first impressions, my boyfriend Michael and I wouldn’t be together if we had thought that way, either (I thought of him as the unreachable Michael Crofford, senior and lead of the drama club. He thought of me as that tiny little, cute, but annoying freshman. Ahhh high school).

  4. Oh fresh pesto is mmmmmm! I love the photos- vibrant and colourful. Te pesto looks thick and delicious!

  5. Pingback: Pesto Macaroni and Goat Cheese with Roasted Red Peppers | OliePants

  6. Pingback: Pasta, Pesto, and Peas | OliePants

  7. Pingback: Goat Cheese, Pesto & Caramelized Onion Triangles | OliePants

Leave a Reply

