Cream Cheese Pound Cake

Very few food items exist in my food world to which I will not add a garnish, sauce, mix-in, etc.  Very few food items exist in my food world that need to be enjoyed in its most pure and unadulterated form.  This, my friends, is one of those items.  Pound cake.

My love of pound cake springs from my mother.  I remember, as kids, when last-minute guests would announce their impending visit, my mother would send my dad to the grocery store to get pound cake.  And I’ll stand by it to this day – the frozen Sara Lee pound cakes are awesome .  Not overly sweet and wonderfully moist.

Recently, when Binks and I were expecting guests (another priestly meal actually), I wanted to make pound cake.  And, it seems from experience, people generally like a good pound cake.

This is a great pound cake.  With its velvety texture, subtle sweetness and lightness without losing the buttery richness, this cake is in my vault of great recipes.

And, by vault, I mean a blue folder that I need to organize.  Either way, it’s there.  And, for good reason.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake

Inspired by Bon Appétit

 Ingredients:

  •  1 (8 oz) package of cream cheese, brought to room temperature (this is very important)
  • 1 and 1/2 cups of butter, room temperature
  • 3 cups white sugar
  • 6 large eggs, room temperature
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 3 cups cake flour, sifted

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325 F.  Grease and flour a 12-cup bundt pan.
  2. Using your mixer, cream together the cream cheese and butter until it’s completely smooth.  You do not want lumps.
  3. Slowly, add in your white sugar until fluffy.
  4. Add the eggs, one at a time, to make sure that the egg is completely incorporated before adding the next.
  5. Add the vanilla.
  6. Gradually add the flour and mix until everything is smooth.  You again don’t want any lumps.
  7. Bake in preheated oven for one hour.  Check if the cake is done using the toothpick test.  If it’s not done, let it remain in the oven baking for 10 minute increments, checking to see if the cake is done each time.  Once the toothpick comes out clean from the center of the cake, remove from the oven to cool.
6 Comments

Filed under baking, Cake, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Cream Cheese Pound Cake

  1. Thanks for reminding me about pound cake. I do like it too, very much actually, but have somehow forgotten about it! I haven’t attempted making it myself yet but I’ll definitely keep your recipe in mind when I do :)

  2. Pound cake is my favorite! Cream cheese pound cake just sounds like heaven….seriously.

  3. I love pound cake! I’ve never actually tried to make it myself, though. I do have my grandmother’s pound cake recipe which I’ve had filed away to make at some point…just waiting for a special occasion…though perhaps I should just make this coming weekend a special occasion and do it already! Gorgeous photos!

  4. I saw a recipe for this on pinterest! It looks like it would be SO GOOD with coffee.

  5. Pingback: Banana Cupcakes with Butterscotch Buttercream | OliePants

  6. Pingback: Masala Chai | OliePants

Leave a Reply

