The Second Cousin

So, I missed my cousin’s graduation party.  Except she was my mom’s second cousin’s daughter and I really don’t even know what that means.  Do you?  If so, don’t explain.  I have read about it, heard about it and different people have given me 15 different variations on it, but I still don’t get it.

But, they are at all the family get-togethers, so I just call them cousins.  And, I missed her high school graduation party.  This was totally my scheduling error and not the error of a careless school (sorry, Ameena).

If I had gone, I would have gotten her money.  Because, let’s be honest.  A high school graduate doesn’t want a pen as much as she wants money.  This also applies to a college graduate and just about any person.  Maybe I’m projecting?

I also understand the impersonal nature of handing someone money with some exceptions.  If you attend a party/get together and hand the money in person, then all is well.  There is some personal-ness to it.  However, if you missed the graduation party and just send money, it might seem a little distant.  Right?  (Mind you, I would accept money with no care but others may care.  Except from Binks – wherein homemade and/or thoughtful are requirements.)

I’m sure this follows no rules of etiquette as I clearly have none, but hey, that’s how I roll.

So, I’m going to mail her a gift package with the following: pens, pencils, highlighters, a desk organizer, cookies, and of course – money.

I was most excited about the cookies.

Specifically, snickerdoodles.  (Recipe)

I love snickerdoodles.  The light and crisp (yet chewy) texture is perfect for a summer treat.

Who knew cookies could be seasonal?

Snickerdoodles are in the same family as sugar cookies to me, just with a bit more pizzazz.

They’re probably second cousins.

Are you a fan of snickerdoodles?  What do you usually give to a high school graduate?

9 Comments

Filed under baking, Cookies, Desserts, Life, Uncategorized

9 responses to “The Second Cousin

  1. I’d be totally happy to get just money in the mail, too… not a lie.

    However, money AND cookies? You’re awesome.

    Usually, I do the giftcard/money along with a “college essential”. My personal favorite being a copy of the movie Old School. 🙂

  2. ooooh snickerdoodles! my dad’s favorite cookie and one of the first i ever learned to bake 🙂 i made almond butter snicker doodles a while ago and they were great!

  3. I’d claim to be your cousin for that package!! nice.

  4. I’d give them the pen. 😉 just kidding!

    I LOVE snickerdoodles, and those look especially good!

  5. kathleen

    The book: “Oh the places you’ll go” by Dr. Seuss and money. My mom did $1 bills each rolled length wise with a ribbon tied around it. It’s artsy and money… best of both worlds?

  6. Oh those cookies will be a big hit! I LOVE snickerdoodles. As a child, I was not a fan of chocolate at all, so sugar cookies and snickerdoodles were my favorite. 🙂

  7. I used to make snicker doodles a lot…my fave next to choc chip and oatmeal…

    I think money is always an acceptable and thoughtful gift. In fact…it feels more thoughtful than buying what people put on their registries (when the event requires that). Giving cash and allowing the person to choose what to spend it on it the best!

    But I do like the touch and thoughtfulness of cookies 🙂

  8. It’s been explained to me a million times, but I still don’t know what a second cousin is. But I DO know that I’m obsessed with snickerdoodles and these look amazing! 🙂

  9. Are you kidding? She’ll be thrilled to get money. I have so many pens! So many pens that I don’t know what to do with. It’s like the ultimate desi gift.

    But cookies? Now that’s the best gift ever. Snickerdoodles are timeless if you ask me.

Leave a comment