Potstickers

My first dim sum experience was a life-changing one.  Various types of food passing by for me to pick up at my leisure is the stuff that goes on in my dreams.

The one dish that always stands out to me above all is the potsticker.

Now, I must tread lightly here because I’m out of my element.  I know that there is a Chinese version and a Japanese version of this dumpling.  People refer to potstickers as gyoza which is a Japanese version, which I think originally comes from the Chinese version.

I don’t know which way mine swings – towards Japan or China.  All I can account for is that it is divine and will serve me well until my next dim sum reservation.

And with a spicy dipping sauce to boot.

Now that I’m familiar with working with the wrappers and the filling, my next logical stop will be here, another item on my Kitchen List.

Potstickers

Ingredients:

  • 1 package wonton/dumpling wrappers – I bought the frozen kind that I thawed overnight in the fridge.
  • 1 lb ground pork
  • 2 stalks green onion, minced
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 (6 oz) package mushrooms, finely chopped
  • 2 tsp garlic chili sauce (you can use Sriracha), optional
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup water

Directions:

  • Heat sesame oil in pot over medium high.
  • Add garlic and mushrooms until lightly browned and mushrooms are cooked – approx. 5 minutes.
  • Place mushroom mixture into a large bowl.  Make sure to remove any moisture.  I usually squeeze out the water from the mushrooms (after cooking) with a spoon and then throw it into the bowl.  You can also squeeze inside a cheesecloth or dab with a paper towel – just make sure its cool enough to handle.
  • To the mushroom and garlic mixture, add the pork, green onion, vinegar, soy sauce and chili sauce.
  • Spoon a teaspoon size amount of the mixture into each wrapper.
  • Secure the ends so that the dumpling is closed tight.
  • After making all your dumplings, heat a pan (that has a lid) 1 tbsp oil until very hot over medium high heat.
  • Place your dumplings in the pan.  Leave space between each dumpling so they do not touch each other.
  • Once the bottoms have browned, usually about a minute after heating, the need-to-be-careful part comes.
  • With one hand I hold the lid (my right hand) and with the other hand I hold the water.  I quickly add the water to the pan and shut it closed with the lid.  The mixing of the oil and water will cause sputtering so please be careful!  So cover immediately and let the dumplings steam inside the pan until the wrapper is translucent.  It usually takes about 3-4 minutes.
  • You can use the same pan for the next batch, but I wipe down my pan with a paper towel so that I can remove any remaining water/oil when I pour another tablespoon of oil.
  • Serve hot with the dipping sauce.

Dipping Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup soy sauce
  • 1/3 cup rice wine vinegar
  • 2 tbsp chili garlic sauce (or Sriracha)
  • 3 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 stalk green onion, sliced thinly

Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients and serve.

*You can most certainly tweak the sauce per your taste.  If you want something more tangy, increase the vinegar.  For spice, I also thinly slice a jalapeno pepper or serrano pepper and add it to the sauce to soak.

Are you a fan of dim sum?  Do you like potstickers?  Do you know the difference between the Japanese and Chinese version?  Inform me! :)

15 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Favorites, garlic, olive oil, Uncategorized

15 responses to “Potstickers

  1. we LOVE potstickers at my house. sooooooo good! i’m jealous that you made these. i want to make these. i WILL make these!

  2. I don’t know the difference but I love love love love them. They are my favorite appetizer at both Chinese and Japanese places! I love making them at home too. I’ll try your recipe…they look GREAT. :)

  3. I’ve only had frozen potstickers a long time ago- definitely not as good as what I imagine these to be!

  4. I LOVE potstickers!!! Yum! You have a beautiful crust on yours, which just makes them perfection :) I do not know the technical difference…but I love them both!

  5. Heyy! Send me an email and we’ll talk makeup! I don’t want to clog your comments. I couldnt find your email so here is mine fashionmeetsfood[at]yahoo

  6. These look so good! I love potstickers/dumplings. Not really sure about the names and origins, but I love that I could make a vegetarian version of these. There’s a place called Royal China at Preston Rd & Royal that has the best dumplings ever!

  7. I have never had these before but now I am going to go out tomorrow and buy everything to make these!

    xo

  8. I like dim sum and potstickers—yum! But no, no clue on the difference.

  9. I LOVE dim sum and potstickers. I was so happy the other day to find out that my beloved taro root cakes are gluten-free (at least at my local dim sum place), along with a few other things I’m really fond of.

  10. I’ve had dim sum once or twice but everything was filled with pork and I couldn’t eat much of it. But I love potstickers! Trader’s has a decent version that tastes good when they are fried. Not the healthiest thing but delicious nonetheless!

  11. I love pot stickers and dim sum! these look great!

  12. oh I’ve been dying to go to a new Dim Sum place here in Austin. I love the recipe!

  13. You made that?? That looks restaurant quality and everything, nice job!

    I love potsticks but I’ve never had dum sum before. Anything wrapped in a wonton is A-OK in my book though!

Leave a Reply

