Semi Olie-Made

Do you guys watch Sandra Lee’s Semi-Homemade Cooking on the Food Network?  (When I had cable), I used to.  Prior to knowing anything about it, I thought the idea was ingenious.  She cooked the way I cooked way back then.

Doctoring up pre-made food was the name of the game.  And I was a playa!

The one thing I knew best was how to doctor up spaghetti sauce.  Why I couldn’t just prepare homemade spaghetti sauce – I don’t know.  But, let me share.

I don’t like jarred spaghetti sauce.  I don’t know if it’s the massive amounts of sugar they put in there or what.  I can never eat a jar of spaghetti sauce without doing something to it.

Let me introduce you to the ‘something’:

Saute with olive oil over medium heat until soft and caramelized.  (I like my marinara a little chunky so I leave the red bell pepper bigger, but feel free to omit or mince based on your preference.) 

Then comes the kicker – the wine.  Binks and I usually have about half a glass left in the wine bottle that we definitely do not want to waste!  Add it after the veggies are done caramelizing.

Add the jar of tomato sauce and simmer for about 20-30 minutes over low heat.

At this point you can use an immersion blender to puree everything or just leave as is – chunky! :)  Feel free to make it your own at this point with the addition of basil or parmesan cheese.

Serve with your favorite pasta!

Perfect quick way to use up that spaghetti sauce in the pantry for dinner!

I would suggest this to Sandra Lee, but then….

….. the Kwanzaa cake episode arrived….

Oh. God. No.

What do you doctor up?  Do you watch Sandra’s show?

12 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Vegetarian

12 responses to “Semi Olie-Made

  1. I love this! What a perfect way to jazz up a boring old jar of sauce!

    And yeah, that Kwanzaa cake episode…. sooooooooo ridiculous!!!!!

  2. yum! i make my own sauce all the time using crushed tomatoes to avoid the sodium but i never thought to put red wine in it! genius!!

  3. Hahaha, that Kwanzaa cake episode was too funny! I thought it was a joke at first…

  4. Mmmhmmm, I love doctoring up spaghetti sauces! I always add crushed tomatoes, garlic salt, cayenne, onion powder and whatever other crazy spices I can come up with! Looks like you had a yummy meal:)

  5. Sandra Lee is a drunk, I love watching how sloshed she gets!

    I totally forgot about the hot Kwanza cake mess she made……watching as I type, I love it….and still can’t believe they aired that.

  6. I like that show and definitely watch it when I catch it on the Food Network. I want to see this Kwanzaa cake episode now!

    I love to doctor up pasta sauces. The last time I did I had some tomatoes that were on their last leg, so I pureed them in my blender and added to the sauce. Turned out pretty good!

  7. Ppl like to hate on Sandra Lee, but I think she’s quite creative with the tablescapes. But does she ever age?

  8. Katherine: Unemployed

    I don’t know that I can say I ever actually “cook” or “make recipes” because whatever I make has the same recipe output and ingredient input (aka: homemade pasta sauce has tomato sauce in it, cakes and cookies may have cake mix, hummus has hummus in it with more mix-ins)

  9. I always buy the jarred sauce and make it my own!

  10. Pingback: The Sauce And The Mess | OliePants

  11. Pingback: Pesto Pasta with Spinach, Broccoli and Walnuts | OliePants

  12. Pingback: Spinach & Cheese Manicotti with Homemade Marinara Sauce | OliePants

Leave a Reply

