Back to the Routine, Almost

I have to say that after the trip to India, the Christmas feast, and the leftovers after, I’m back to being in my routine of making oatmeal/smoothies for breakfast, something for lunch (sandwich/leftovers) and a healthy dinner.  Oh how I missed my routine!

So, say a big welcome back to my bowl of oats!!

I love a good bowl of cinnamon oats with a dollop of pumpkin butter – yep, that’s right – I’m still not over pumpkin yet!

For lunch, we went to McAlister’s Deli for the first time.

I don’t usually go out for lunch (as much as I want to), but Binks and I stepped out of the norm.  As some of you know, sandwiches are my favorite food.

So, I ordered half a grilled chicken club and a cup of chili.

Binks ordered half a submarine and a cup of chicken tortilla soup.

I have to say, I was disappointed.  You can’t tell from the pics, but the sandwiches were small (esp to be charging us approx. $18 for both meals), and really lacked flavor and any substance.  Binks’ sandwich had a couple of slices of meat and my grilled chicken tasted like hospital food.  The worst was Binks’ soup – usually tortilla soup is more watery, right?  This soup had a consistency of broccoli and cheese, but more gelatinous-y.

What bothers me more is the service.  Two little meals took about 20 minutes to bring out and the waitress cleared my table before I was even done.  Game over.

I’m sorry McAlister’s.  Considering, I don’t go out to lunch much and sandwiches are my favorite food ever – you scored a 2/10.

Dinner was the best yet.  I didn’t feel like a whole meal but was craving dough balls like mad.  So, after much fighting with my sofa, I got up.

And, look what happened:

I made them with Earth Balance and a flax egg.  Delicious.

Can we say money shot? (I didn’t let them cool…whoops!)

Ahh…It’s good to be home.

*Update:  The one thing I’m still off on when it comes to routine is my exercise routine.  What do you all do for exercise?  I don’t know if with the weather I can run outside or at least trust myself to run outside.  So, what do you do?

12 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Cookies, Desserts, Uncategorized

12 responses to “Back to the Routine, Almost

  1. Your balls look great!!! :)

    I’ve been to McAllister’s once and got the baked potato. It was great but for the prices they charge, I won’t go back. Why spend $9 on something that I can make at home for $2?

  2. I too used Earth Balance on the dough balls and totally got the melty money shot photo! Soooooooo stinkin delicious.

  3. My love for pumpkin is still going strong as well!! I am thinking about trying out some work out DVDs. A lot of people rave about them. It would nice to be able to get a work out in without braving the cold outside!

  4. Kat

    I went to McAlister’s once when I was out of town for a friend’s wedding (we don’t have them in MN) and was so overwhelmed. I don’t think I would have made it if I wasn’t there with people who knew what was going on.

    In the winter I do the treadmill, so I don’t dare go outside with the cold and ice and slush and whatnot. That being said, when I can’t run, I do yoga. It does such a nice job of toning and getting rid of inches. Plus you finish up and have that nice, zen feeling.

  5. Tes

    Getting back to the routines is one of the most difficult things after the long vacation and holiday. I have so much fun reading about your trip in India. I am a foriegner who live in India, it’s nice to read about this :)

  6. It’s so funny that you mention not being over pumpkin. I – the ultimate pumpkin lover – actually got a little tired of it by November. After a 6 week hiatus, this morning I decided I need to bring it back into my life! We’re on the same wavelength :)

  7. Pingback: Green With Yummy | OliePants

Leave a Reply

